News Archives

Top 10 Wrestling Stables: Countdown Part One

February 11th, 2014 at 11:33 AM
By Peter Schifani

Now into the second month of the new year we also move along to our second countdown in our series of Top 10's throughout 2014. For this month we will look at the top 10 wrestling stables in the history of professional wrestling. One caveat for this countdown was that the stable had to include at least four members so it disqualified the likes of current groups like The Shield or the Wyatt Family. On to numbers 10, nine and eight for this first part below.

Number 10: Devastation Inc

The group was lead in WCCW by General Skandor Akbar and became one of the longest running stables, as evidenced by the video, in pro wrestling. In his early days as a manager he brought such talents to the forefront, in Texas, as the Great Kabuki, Missing Link, Killer Khan and Kamala. Some of the best wrestlers who benefited from his tutelage included: "Latin Heartthrob" Al Perez, Black Bart, Big Bubba Rogers (Bossman), Cactus Jack, "Flamboyant" Eric Embry, "Iceman" King Parsons and Brickhouse Brown (Blackbirds), "Gorgeous" Gary Young, John Hawk (aka JBL), "Ragin' Bull" Manny Fernandez, "Maniac" Matt Borne (aka Doink), Angel of Death, One Man Gang and King Kong Bundy back when he had hair (yes he really did.) Devastation Incorporated was a thorn in the side of the Von Erichs and many "faces" in World Class, the Mid-South territory and later the USWA and GWF before they went the way of all ways.

Number Nine: Nexus

The very first season of NXT, as a television competition, ended with Wade Barrett being declared the winner. Shortly after that on the June 7, 2010 edition of Monday Night Raw the remaining competitors of NXT's first season joined Barrett as a group to attack John Cena, CM Punk and more at the conclusion of the show, tearing up the ringside area, and even the ring itself. Daniel Bryan, who used the tie of ring announcer Justin Roberts to choke him, was let go only to return a few months later, but Skip Sheffield (Ryback), David Otunga, Michael McGillicutty (Curtis Axel), Michael Tarver, Darren Young, Heath Slater and Justin Gabriel would run rough shot over WWE for the next six months of 2010. Eventually the Nexus would morph into the New Nexus under CM Punk as Wade Barrett lost a match that saw him lose his leadership role, and they would add Mason Ryan (since Sheffield was injured) and Husky Harris (Bray Wyatt) replacing Darren Young. Slater and Gabriel would join Barrett in his new group The Corre, along with Ezekiel Jackson, but all the bravado of these young guns taking over was gone.

Number Eight: Corporate Ministry

While this "unholy" alliance between The Corporation, lead by Vince and Shane McMahon, and the Ministry of Darkness, lead by the Undertaker, was short lived back in 1999, it certainly had an impact on the course of WWF over that year. In April back when Smackdown was being birthed, on it's original pilot episode, the groups were merged to battle common foes, and thorns in the sides of both, "Stonecold" Steve Austin and The Rock, plus Vince McMahon. Vince had been kicked out of his Corporation by Shane when the Undertaker had gone after Vince's daughter Stephanie McMahon, and Vince no longer had The Corporation's best interests in mind. The Undertaker, who was then the WWF Champion, claimed there was a "higher power" that he answered to, who would eventually be revealed to be Vince McMahon himself. The whole idea was a storyline scheme to destroy the biggest thorn in the side of Vince, Steve Austin. Control of the WWF was in the balance, as Vince's wife Linda and daughter Stephanie made Austin the CEO of WWE with 50 percent ownership, while Vince and Shane controlled the other 50 percent. At 'King of the Ring' Austin lost a ladder match and his 50 percent control, but Austin wrote himself a clause in his contract for a title match with the Undertaker, whom he would win the title from in short order. The Ministry members besides 'Taker included Faarooq (Ron Simmons) and Bradshaw (JBL) (aka The Acolytes), Mideon and Viscera, while The Corporation included Triple H, Chyna, Big Bossman, Joey Abs, Pete Gas and Rodney (Mean Street Posse).

So there is the first part of the four part countdown, with number seven, six and five to come in part two this week, and next week part three for numbers four, three and two, followed a week later by number one. Feel free to give us your thoughts on your favorite stables, with many more great groups to come before the month is over.

Tags: CM Punk, Daniel Bryan, John Cena, NXT, Shane McMahon, Smackdown, The Rock, Triple H, Undertaker, Vince McMahon, Wade Barrett, WCCW, Wrestling

Related posts

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: