News Archives

Oakland Raiders Release Seven Players as Roster Limit of 75 Approaches

August 24th, 2014 at 3:26 PM
By Nicholas Gill

The Oakland Raiders have released seven players to get their active roster down from 90 players to 83 players. The team will have until Tuesday, August 26 to make the remaining eight cuts to get down to the NFL limit of 75 players. Then the next week Oakland will get down to the final 53 man roster.

The players the Raiders released as wide receivers Mike Davis and Rahsaan Vaughn defensive tackle Torell Troup, linebacker Justin Cole, tight end Kyle Auffray, cornerback Jansen Watson and tackle Emmett Cleary. The only name of this list of cuts that is even somewhat of a surprise is Mike Davis.

Davis was brought to the Raiders as an undrafted free agent out of Texas, In college Davis accumulated solid numbers and began to make an impression early in OTAs and mini-camp with Oakland. However, as training camp and preseason moved forward, Davis fell further and further behind. With the emergence of Brice Butler as one of the final receivers vying to make the team, Davis became expendable.

Troup is another of the releases that comes as a small surprise. It is not a surprise that the Raiders released Troup, but that he did not make it past the first cuts. He was a player the Raiders signed as a future/reserve free agent this offseason. Troup was able to generate some pressure in the first preseason game but did not have much impact after that.

These seven cuts made by the Raiders are just the beginning as they begin to piece together their final 53 man roster. More cuts are on the horizon as the roster must be trimmed to 75 by Tuesday.

Seeing your team play in the SuperBowl is priceless. Watching the SuperBowl live in the stands for $1 per week is beyond priceless. Find out how at, the future of Championship Tickets. Tags: cuts, Football, Justin Cole, Mike Davis, NFL, Oakland, Oakland Raiders, Rahsaan Vaughn, released, roster, Texas, Torell Troup

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: