News Archives

New York Yankees’ Mark Teixeira, Robinson Cano Win AL Gold Glove Awards

October 31st, 2012 at 10:28 AM
By Daniel Sirianni

New York Yankees first baseman Mark Teixeira and second baseman Robinson Cano have each been announced as 2012 Gold Glove award winners for their respective positions in the American League. In addition to the two Yankees, the East division had a strong impact on the AL Gold Glove lineup, with three Baltimore Orioles and a player from the Tampa Bay Rays also winning awards. 

'Robinson Cano, Nate McLouth' photo (c) 2012, Keith Allison - license:

Teixeira, 32, now has five career Gold Glove awards. Despite playing just 119 games at first base this season, Teixeira's impressive .999 fielding percentage and ability to save off-target throws was enough to win him the award. In 1,032 innings, Tex made just one error this year. 

Cano, 30, now has two career Gold Glove awards. After winning the award with a nearly flawless 2010 season in the field, Cano struggled in 2011 with 10 errors and a .987 fielding percentage in 150 starts at second base. However, he bounced back this season with a .992 fielding percentage and just six errors in 150 starts at second base. 

Rounding out the AL winners is Matt Wieters, J.J. Hardy, and Adam Jones of the Orioles, Adrian Beltre of the Texas Rangers, Josh Reddick of the Oakland Athletics, Alex Gordon of the Kansas City Royals, and the pitching award was split between Jake Peavy of the Chicago White Sox and Jeremy Hellickson of the Rays. 

Of notable Gold Glove snubs, Los Angeles Angels rookie Mike Trout stands out. He was the favorite to win the award for center field, but Adam Jones beat him out, possibly because of his team's postseason appearance. 


Tags: Baltimore Orioles, Baseball, Gold Glove, Mark Teixeira, MLB, New York, New York Yankees, Robinson Cano

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: