News Archives

Seven Patriots Named to AFC Squad

December 28th, 2012 at 4:37 PM
By Spencer Frenchman

Seven Patriots have been selected to represent the AFC at this year's Pro Bowl on Jan. 27 in Hawaii.

QB Tom Brady was selected to the Pro Bowl for the eighth time in his magnificent career and G Logan Mankins, WR Wes Welker, and DT Vince Wilfork were all selected to their fifth Pro Bowls.  Joining them will be fellow Patriots TE Rob Gronkowski, LB Jerod Mayo, and WR Matthew Slater (special teams).  This is the second straight Pro Bowl selection for Slater and Gronkowski, and the second in Mayo's career.

Gronkowski, Mankins, Mayo, and Wilfork will all start for the AFC.

"It's an honor to be recognized by my peers, the coaches and the fans, but it's more of an honor to be one of seven of my teammates going to Hawaii, since that is a reflection of our overall success," Mayo said.  "We'll all enjoy the recognition tonight with our families and be right back to focusing on the Dolphins in the morning."

Matthew Slater had a much different response, saying that he would rather not play in the game.

"Well, I didn't get to go last year.  Hopefully I don't get to go this year," he said.  "I'd rather be eating gumbo in New Orleans than pineapple in Hawaii."

Super Bowl participants do not play in the Pro Bowl

Tags: Football, Jerod Mayo, Logan Mankins, Matthew Slater, New England, New England Patriots, NFL, Pro Bowl, Rob Gronkowski, Tom Brady, Vince Wilfork, Wes Welker

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: