History of Motorsports

Stock Car racing began in the 1920s in Daytona Beach. Stock Cars were also used during prohibition to transport alcohol. Being fast enabled the cars to get away from the cops easier. NASCAR was founded in 1948 and its first event was held in Daytona Beach. Red Byron won the first championship. The Strictly Stock division began in 1949, which is considered the beginning of the Cup Series. NASCAR’s highest level of competition is the Sprint Cup Series. The Series is named based on the sponsor of the event. For instance, the series was known as the Winston Cup from 1972 until 2003. In 2004 NEXTEL had the naming rights until NEXTEL was purchased by Sprint. Jimmy Johnson won the Sprint Cup five years in a row between 2006 and 2010. Tony Stewart is currently the defending champion.

In addition to the Sprint Cup Series, the Nationwide Series is also a part of NASCAR. The first season of the second tier series began in 1982. Jack Ingram won the first series and Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. is the defending champion. In addition to cars, trucks are also raced in NASCAR in the Camping World Truck Series. Mike Skinner won the first Truck Series in 1995. Austin Dillon is the current champion of the Truck Series. The Canadian Tire Series, the Corona Series, the Racecar Euro Series and Regional racing series are also a part of NASCAR. NASCAR is often criticized for driver’s safety and pollution. NASCAR designed the “Car of Tomorrow” in order to protect the drivers better in the event of a crash. As for pollution, NASCAR has switched to E15 fuel, a blend of gasoline and ethanol, which is considered more “green."