News Archives

Nico Rosberg Wins Belgian Grand Prix Pole on Wet Spa-Francorchamps Track

August 23rd, 2014 at 3:13 PM
By Mark Eddinger

Rain hit the Spa-Francorchamps track about 40 minutes before the scheduled start of qualifying and track condition remained wet throughout the three qualifying sessions. In the end it was Nico Rosberg who was able to out perform his Mercedes teammate and championship rival Lewis Hamilton to score the pole for the Belgian Grand Prix.

It is the seventh pole for Rosberg this season and the 11th of his Formula One career. The Mercedes duo dominated in all three rounds of qualifying. Rosberg was fastest in Q1 and Hamilton was fastest in Q2.

Sebastian Vettel for Red Bull Racing will start third with Fernando Alonso of Ferrari fourth and Daniel Ricciardo of Red Bull Racing fifth. All three of them had off track moments in Q3. Earning the sixth spot on Sunday's grid was Valtteri Bottas of Williams Martini Racing. He was fastest in Saturday morning's third practice of the weekend. Kevin Magnussen will start seventh for McLaren with Kimi Raikkonen eighth for Ferrari, Felipe Massa ninth for Williams, and Jenson Button tenth for McLaren.

Earning their starting positions in Q2 were Daniil Kvyat for Toro Rosso in 11th and his teammate Jean-Eric Vergne 12th. Sergio Perez of Force India will start 13th with Adrian Sutil of Sauber 14th. Romain Grosjean spun his Lotus during Q2 but earned 15th ahead of the Marussia of Jules Bianchi who will start 16th.

Not advancing out of Q1 were Pastor Maldonado in 17th for Lotus. He spun early in Q1. Nico Hulkenberg will start 18th for Force India after complaining of low break temperatures. Max Chilton for Marussia came in 19th and Esteban Gutierrez of Sauber was 20th. Andre Lotterer will make his F1 debut from 21st for Caterham after he out-qualified his teammate Marcus Ericsson.

Coverage of the Belgian Grand Prix can be seen Sunday starting at 7:30 a.m. ET on NBCSN.

Seeing your team play in the SuperBowl is priceless. Watching the SuperBowl live in the stands for $1 per week is beyond priceless. Find out how at, the future of Championship Tickets. Tags: Andre Lotterer, Belgian Grand Prix, Daniel Ricciardo, Felipe Massa, Fernando Alonso, Formula One, Jules Bianchi, Kevin Magnussen, Kimi Raikkonen, Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, Motorsports, Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Vettel, Valtteri Bottas

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: