News Archives

Will Power Adds to Verizon IndyCar Series Points Lead with Pole at the Milwaukee Mile

August 16th, 2014 at 9:15 PM
By Mark Eddinger

Team Penske's Will Power entered Saturday's qualifying for the ABC Supply Wisconsin 250 at Milwaukee IndyFest with a four point lead over his teammate Helio Castroneves but earned one additional point by winning the Verizon P1 Away at the Milwaukee Mile. It is his third pole of the season and 36th of his career.

Sunday's race is one of only three remaining in the 2014 season as Power looks to win his first career championship after finishing second in 2010, 2011, and 2012 and finishing fourth in the 2013 Verizon IndyCar Series points.

“It’s just a great start to the three-race chase you could say for the championship finish,” said Power. “It’s traditionally a track position race. In practice, it was definitely hard to pass so I can see you’re going to be in traffic all day."

Power took the pole with a 2-lap average of 169.262 mph. Starting alongside Power on the front row will be Tony Kanaan. Juan Pablo Montoya will start third and Ryan Briscoe fourth.

The fifth and seventh place qualifiers also had big news concerning 2015 announced on Saturday. Josef Newgarden of Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing qualified fifth and Ed Carpenter of Ed Carpenter Racing qualified seventh. The two single-car teams announced that they will merge for 2015 under the new name CFH Racing. Ed Carpenter Racing has three wins this season with Mike Conway driving to victory at Long Beach and Toronto and Carpenter winning at Texas. Ed Carpenter Racing formed in 2012. Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing formed in 2008 and Ed Carpenter gave the team their first win in 2011 at Kentucky.

Qualifying sixth was Charlie Kimball with Helio Castroneves eighth, Marco Andretti ninth, and Takuma Sato tenth. Scott Dixon will start 11th, Justin Wilson 12th, James Hinchcliffe 13th, Graham Rahal 14th, and Mikhail Aleshin 15th. Simon Pagenaud will start 16th, Jack Hawksworth 17th, Sebastien Bourdais 18th, Ryan Hunter-Reay 19th, Carlos Munoz 20th, Sebastian Saavedra 21st, and Carlos Huertas 22nd.

The ABC Supply Wisconsin 250 at Milwaukee IndyFest can be seen Sunday at 3 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

Seeing your team play in the SuperBowl is priceless. Watching the SuperBowl live in the stands for $1 per week is beyond priceless. Find out how at, the future of Championship Tickets. Tags: CFH Racing, Ed Carpenter Racing, Helio Castroneves, Josef Newgarden, Juan Pablo Montoya, Mike Conway, Milwaukee IndyFest, milwaukee mile, Motorsports, Ryan Briscoe, Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing, Team Penske, tony kanaan, Verizon IndyCar Series, Will Power

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: