News Archives

Marcos Ambrose Wins Zippo 200 at Watkins Glen International

August 9th, 2014 at 5:21 PM
By Clayton Caldwell

Coming into this weekend's races at Watkins Glen International Marcos Ambrose was a favorite to win at least one of the two NASCAR races he entered in. Well on Saturday Marcos Ambrose won the first of the races he was entered in when he won the Zippo 200 at Watkins Glen International. It's Ambrose's fifth career NASCAR Nationwide Series victory and fourth at Watkins Glen. He beat Kyle Busch by two car lengths. 

CANDID1PHOTO / Foter / Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.0 Generic (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)
Finishing in the third position was Joey Logano with teammate Brad Keselowski finishing in the fourth spot. Finishing fifth was Matt Kenseth. Finishing sixth was Chase Elliott with Elliott Sadler coming home seventh. Ty Dillon finished in the eighth spot with Paul Menard coming home ninth and Brian Scott finished tenth. 

Finishing in the 11th position was James Buescher with Ryan Reed coming home 12th. Trevor Bayne finished 13th with Mike Bliss finishing 14th. Finishing in the 15th spot was Kyle Larson with Jeremy Clements coming home 16th. Regan Smith finished in the 17th position with Stanton Barrett finishing 18th. Finishing in the 19th spot was Brennan Newberry. Tomy Drissi rounded out the top 20. 

The race started with an all Team Penske front row with Brad Keselowski and Joey Logano on the front row. Early in the race, on lap 5 of 82, Marcos Ambrose and Kyle Busch made contact in the bus stop section of the racetrack. Both drivers spun and it took some good strategy and fast racecars to get them back to the front of the pack. They did and from lap 31 on it was Marcos Ambrose's race to lose and he didn't let that happen.

The race was slowed five times for caution flags. Trevor Bayne had an eventful day having been involved in the first three cautions of the race including a crash with J.J. Yeley who, after contact with Bayne, slammed the outside wall head on, ending his day in the 35th position. Bayne's first contact was with Kenny Habul and the second time took out Kevin O'Connell. 

Other notables in the field included Dylan Kwasniewski in 27th. He was spun late in the race by Regan Smith and then limped to pit road with a flat tire. Brendan Gaughan finished in 28th after having overheating issues and Chris Buescher finished in 29th after he suffered front end damage after running into the back of Regan Smith in the S's. 

Chase Elliott remains the points leader as he has a 12 point lead over Regan Smith. Smith had issues which started when his crew left his right-front wheel loose on a pit stop. Chris Buescher then ran into the back of him while Smith was off the pace. After the race he and Dylan Kwasniewski engaged in a conversation following Smith spinning the rookie driver. Third in the points standings is Elliott Sadler who is 13 points back, as is Ty Dillon who is fourth. Fifth in the standings is Brian Scott followed by Trevor Bayne, Brendan Gaughan, Chris Buescher, Ryan Reed and James Buescher. 

The next race on the NASCAR Nationwide Series schedule is the Nationwide Children's Hospital 200 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course on Saturday, August 16th. 

Seeing your team play in the SuperBowl is priceless. Watching the SuperBowl live in the stands for $1 per week is beyond priceless. Find out how at, the future of Championship Tickets. Tags: Joey Logano, Kyle Busch, Marcos Ambrose, Motorsports, NASCAR, NASCAR Nationwide Series, Watkins Glen International, Zippo 200

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: