News Archives

Daniel Ricciardo Makes Late Passes to Win Hungarian Grand Prix for Red Bull Racing

July 27th, 2014 at 2:31 PM
By Mark Eddinger

For only the second time in the 2014 Formula One season someone other than the Mercedes duo of Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton won and both times it has been Red Bull Racing's newcomer Daniel Ricciardo. This time around the 25-year-old Australian earned his second career win at the Hungaroring in the Hungarian Grand Prix.

Jaffa The Cake / Foter / Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0)

Rain at the beginning of the race and two safety car periods caused varying strategy in the 70 lap race which Ricciardo's team won out on. He charged his Red Bull Racing machine past Lewis Hamilton in Turn 2 with four laps to go and then with three laps to go he made quick work of Fernando Alonso's Ferrari to take the race lead on fresher tires. Ricciardo pulled away to win by 5.2 seconds over Fernando Alonso and 5.8 seconds over Lewis Hamilton.

World Championship leader Nico Rosberg started from the pole while Lewis Hamilton had to start from pit road after not turning an official lap in Q1 Saturday because of fuel leak. The wet track caused for treacherous conditions which was on display on lap 1 when Hamilton's spun and brushed the barrier in Turn 2.

Rosberg held a healthy lead when on lap 8 when Marcus Ericsson spun his Caterham in Turn 3 and hit the tire wall hard to bring out the safety car. The first four cars were too far up track to dive to pit road and were caught out. They were Rosberg, Valtteri Bottas, Sebastian Vettel, and Alonso. Ricciardo was able to hit pit road and when the other four pitted under the caution he restarted with the lead after the safety car period ended. It was a long delay due to Romain Grosjean crashing his Lotus under the caution.

Jenson Button took the lead as he stayed on the wet weather tire while everyone else switched to slicks. But after a few laps his tires gave way and Ricciardo went back to the front. Alonso survived a momentary off track moment and continued in third.

The second safety car then came out on lap 23 when Sergio Perez crashed off the final corner and hit the pit wall with his Force India. Ricciardo took the opportunity to pit which gave the lead over to Alonso.

On lap 38 Alonso made what would be his final stop of the race which gave the lead over to Hamilton. The Mercedes driver then pitted on lap 39 which put Ricciardo back into the lead. He led until lap 54 when he pitted for his final stop. That put Alonso into the lead just ahead of Hamilton and Rosberg.  The championship points leader then pitted on lap 56 and dropped him over 20 seconds back of the lead battle.

Ricciardo charged to lead lead by getting past Hamilton's older tires on lap 77 and Alonso's on lap 78. Rosberg meanwhile pulled up to a battle with Hamilton for the final podium spot but Hamilton ran him wide on the final lap to hold him off and gain a little ground in the points.

Rosberg finished fourth, Felipe Massa of Williams Martini Racing was fifth, Kimi Raikkonen of Ferrari sixth, and Sebastian Vettel of Red Bull Racing was seventh after he spun off the final corner while in the lead fight earlier. Finishing eighth was Valtteri Bottas of Williams Martini Racing, Jean-Eric Vergne of Toro Rosso finished ninth and Jenson Button of McLaren grabbed the last championship point in tenth.

Adrian Sutil was 11th, Kevin Magnussen 12th, Pastor Maldonado 13th, Daniil Kvyat 14th, Jules Bianchi 15th, and Max Chilton 16th. Joining Ericcson, Grosjean and Perez out of the race were Nico Hulkenberg, Eseban Gutierrez, and Kamui Kobayashi. Hulkenberg had collided with his Force India teammate back on lap 15 which ended his race. Gutierrez and Kobayashi had mechanical issues.

After 11 race Nico Rosberg leads Lewis Hamilton by a margin of 202 to 191. Daniel Ricciardo is third with 131 points. Fernando Alonso is fourth with 115 points and Valtteri Bottas is fifth with 95 points. Sebastian Vettel is sixth, Nico Hulkenberg seventh, Jenson Button eighth, Felipe Massa ninth, and Kevin Magnussen tenth.

Mercedes has 393 constructor points with Red Bull Racing in second with 219 points. Ferrari moved back to third with 142 points and Williams is now fourth with 135.

Formula One will now go on a hiatus for the summer break until the Belgian Grand Prix on August 24th.

Seeing your team play in the SuperBowl is priceless. Watching the SuperBowl live in the stands for $1 per week is beyond priceless. Find out how at, the future of Championship Tickets. Tags: Daniel Ricciardo, Felipe Massa, Fernando Alonso, Formula One, Hungarian Grand Prix, Kimi Raikkonen, Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, Motorsports, Nico Rosberg, red bull racing, Sebastian Vettel, Valtteri Bottas

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: