News Archives

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Updates Before Wednesday’s Eldora Speedway Show

July 22nd, 2014 at 8:48 PM
By Mark Eddinger

The second annual 1-800 CarCash Mudsummer Classic NASCAR Camping World Truck Series is set for Wednesday night at Eldora Speedway. Last season NASCAR's return to dirt track racing was a spectacle and the second edition of the race should be quite the show as well.

Ted Van Pelt / Foter / Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0)

Over Monday and Tuesday news has been coming in regarding drivers that will compete and companies that will sponsor some of the trucks.

SS Green Light Racing announced their driver lineup for the Mudsummer Classic on Tuesday. Jared Landers will drive the No. 07 Chevrolet with sponsorship from Crop Production Services and Dyna-Gro Seeds. Landers won his heat race last season and finished 12th in the main event driving for Eddie Sharp Racing. In the No. 08 Chevrolet will be 21-year-old Korbin Forrister. He has driven three races so far this season for SS Green Light Racing and has an average finish of 26.7.

On Monday Empire Racing Group announced that Cody Erickson will drive their No. 82 Chevrolet in the Mudsummer Classic. It will be his NASCAR Camping World Truck Series debut. Also added to the entry list on Monday to make his debut race in the series was Michael Affarano in his family owned No. 03 Chevrolet.

Affarano's entry brought the entry list to 34 trucks. That means four trucks will not make the main event race and will be knockout out in the last chance qualifying race.

The T3R2 team that Bryan Silas drives for announced on Tuesday that SANY will sponsor their No. 99 Chevrolet in the Mudsummer Classic and also in October's race at Talladega Superspeedway.

Other news breaking on Tuesday was that Tripp Bruce has been named as crew chief on Mason Mingus' No. 35 WinTron Racing Toyota team. Bruce replaces Mark Rette who served as crew chief for the rookie Mingus in the first nine races of the season. Mingus is currently 13th in the Truck Series driver standings. Rette will stay with WinTron Racing and now serve as crew chief in the ARCA Racing Series for Frank Kimmel.

Single truck qualifying to set the lineups for the heat races will take place at 5 p.m. ET Wednesday on Fox Sports 1. Then at 7 p.m. ET also on Fox Sports 1 the heat races will be televised with the 150-lap main event race at the half-mile dirt track in Rossburg, Ohio also on Fox Sports 1 at 9 p.m. ET.

Seeing your team play in the SuperBowl is priceless. Watching the SuperBowl live in the stands for $1 per week is beyond priceless. Find out how at, the future of Championship Tickets. Tags: Bryan Silas, Cody Erickson, Eldora Speedway, Empire Racing, Fox Sports 1, Frank Kimmel, Jared Landers, Mark Rette, Mason Mingus, Michael Affarano, Motorsports, Mudsummer Classic, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, SS Green Light Racing, Tripp Bruce

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: