News Archives

Ford’s Four Race NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Win Streak Longest Since 2001

July 14th, 2014 at 9:34 PM
By Mark Eddinger

Ford is having it's best season in terms of wins in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series in some time despite the fact that Roush Fenway Racing is having a very down year. Currently Ford is on a four-race win streak which is their longest since the 2001 season. Ford's eight total wins this season are the most since the company won 11 times in 2008.

CANDID1PHOTO / Foter / Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.0 Generic (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

The eight wins have also come in only the first 19 races of the season. There are still 17 more races for Ford to try to overtake the 2008 total.

The four-race win streak started with Carl Edwards at Sonoma Raceway on June 22nd  then Brad Keselowski won at Kentucky Speedway on June 28th. Aric Almirola then won at Daytona International Speedway on July 6th and Brad Keselowski made it four in a row with yesterday's win at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Back in 2001 Ford last won four consecutive times when Dale Jarrett won at Darlington Raceway for Robert Yates Racing then Elliott Sadler won at Bristol Motor Speedway for Wood Brothers Racing followed by two more wins by Jarrett at Texas Motor Speedway and Martinsville Speedway.

Ford will try for their fifth straight win on Sunday, July 27th at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The last time Ford won five races in a row was the 1998 season. A Ford team has not won at IMS since the 1999 season when Dale Jarrett won at the famed track.

Before Ford went on their win streak Hendrick Motorsports and Chevrolet were on a five race win streak with Jeff Gordon and Dale Earnhardt Jr winning once and Jimmie Johnson winning three times.

Ford's 2014 success has been led by Team Penske with three wins by Brad Keselowski and two wins by Joey Logano. Even though Roush Fenway Racing's three-team operation has struggled this season Carl Edwards has found victory lane twice. Aric Almirola's win came for the Ford team of Richard Petty Motorsports. Front Row Motorsports and Go FAS Racing are the other two full-time organizations that run Fords.

Tags: aric almirola, Brad Keselowski, Carl Edwards, Dale Jarrett, Elliott Sadler, Front Row Motorsports, Go Fas Racing, Joey Logano, Motorsports, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, Richard Petty Motorsports, Robert Yates Racing, roush fenway racing, Team Penske, Wood Brothers Racing

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: