News Archives

Scott Dixon Wins Pole for Iowa Corn Indy 300 at Iowa Speedway

July 11th, 2014 at 8:19 PM
By Mark Eddinger

Scott Dixon earned the Verizon P1 Award on Friday night for the Iowa Corn Indy 300 at Iowa Speedway with a new track record two-lap average of 186.256 mph. It is the 21st career Verizon IndyCar Series pole for the three-time champion and the third of his career at the Newton, Iowa track.

insidetherace / Foter / Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.0 Generic (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

Nine different drivers have now won a pole this season in the first 12 races of the season. Dixon's Target Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Tony Kanaan will start from second place in Saturday night's race.

Starting third will be Helio Castroneves for Team Penske and he will be joined by Ryan Briscoe on row two. Carlos Munoz will start fifth and Sebastien Bourdais sixth on row three.

"It's definitely a good thing to see the Ganassi cars at the top," said Dixon. "We had been stuck in sort of a rut and it had been a while since my last pole. We're winless so we have a bit of work to do. It definitely will be a tough one; the competition is extremely good."

Starting in the seventh place will be Charlie Kimball with Marcos Andretti eighth, Will Power ninth, and Ed Carpenter tenth. Simon Pagenaud will start 11th, Mikhail Aleshin 12th, Ryan Hunter-Reay 13th, and James Hinchcliffe 14th. Hinchcliffe won the 2013 race at Iowa Speedway.

Graham Rahal will start in 15th with Takuma Sato 16th, Sebastian Saavedra 17th, Justin Wilson 18th, Juan Pablo Montoya 19th, Jack Hawksworth 20th, Josef Newgarden 21st, and Carlos Huertas 22nd.

The Iowa Corn Indy 300 can be seen at 8 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

Tags: Carlos Munoz, Helio Castroneves, IndyCar Series, Iowa Speedway, James Hinchcliffe, Juan Pablo Montoya, Motorsports, Ryan Briscoe, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Scott Dixon, Sebastien Bourdais, Simon Pagenaud, Target Chip Ganassi Racing, Verizon IndyCar Series, Will Power

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: