News Archives

Veteran Motocross Champion Mike LaRocco Honored by AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame

July 5th, 2014 at 3:58 PM
By Wendy Black

The fifth member of the Class of 2014 to be inducted into the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame is former AMA Motocross Champion Mike “The Rock” LaRocco. Elected to the museum’s Motocross/Supercross category, LaRocco won the AMA 500 National Motocross Championship in 1993 and the AMA 250 National Motocross title in 1994. The veteran racer also won the FIM Supercross World Championship in 2000 prior to retiring in 2006.

"Mike LaRocco was a tough competitor who gave it his all every time he got on the track," said Ken Ford, of the Hall of Fame executive committee. "He was a huge fan favorite throughout his 19-year professional career."

LaRocco got his start in professional racing in 1988 at the age of 17. Throughout his impressive career, he participated in a total of 228 Supercross starts. During that time, LaRocco’s perseverance saw him continue to win Supercross races over the course of three decades, and in both the 125cc and 250cc classes. Upon hearing about his nomination, LaRocco said he was honored to be included in the Hall of Fame Class of 2014.

"You know, when I was racing, I was very focused on the competition, and the fan thing was a distraction," LaRocco said. "But now, looking back, I recognize how important the fans are in making all this possible. And I appreciate the support they gave me."

Although LaRocco has long since retired from competing himself, he recently took on a new roll in the racing world. Since 2010, LaRocco has managed the GEICO Honda Supercross/Motocross Team, which has won a title every year since he became involved.

"After I retired, I took a couple of years off," LaRocco said. "But I was close to the guys who run this team, and it was a good fit. I learned a lot over my career, and I felt I had something to share."

LaRocco joins previously announced Class of 2014 inductees, motocross pioneer Pierre Karsmakers; Tom White, former racer and founder of White Brothers Cycle Specialties; George Barber, founder of the Barber Vintage Motorsports Museum and the Barber Motorsports Park; and national off-road racing champion Scott Summers. They will be inducted at the 2014 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Oct. 17, in Orlando, Fla. 

Tags: AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame, Barber Motorsports Park, Barber Vintage Motorsports Museum, GEICO Honda, George Barber, Ken Ford, Mike LaRocco, Motorsports, Pierre Karsmakers, Scott Summers, White Brothers Cycle Specialties

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: