News Archives

Eric Goodale Wins at Hometown Riverhead Raceway for First NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Victory

June 29th, 2014 at 12:50 AM
By Mark Eddinger

In his 77th career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour start 28-year-old Eric Goodale from Rivehead, New York won Saturday night at Riverhead Raceway. Goodale took the lead from Ted Christopher on lap 176 and led the final 25 laps of the Hoosier Tire 200.

2006-07-20 - United States - New York - Long Island - North Fork - Riverhead Raceway - Indian from Flickr via Wylio? 2006 CGP Grey, Flickr | CC-BY | via Wylio

The race saw 11 cautions for 90 total laps as the 30 car field was cut to only 18 running at the finish and 13 on the lead lap.

Ted Christopher finished 2.229 seconds behind Goodale in second place. Matt Hirschman finished third, Ryan Preece fourth, and rookie Timmy Solomito was fifth. Doug Coby was sixth, Ron Silk seventh, Tom Rogers Jr eighth, rookie Shawn Solomito ninth, and Bobby Santos rounded out the top 10. Also on the lead lap were Ken Heagy in 11th, John Beatty Jr 12th, and Jamie Tomaino 13th.

John Beatty Jr won his first career pole earlier in the day and led a race-high 108 laps. He was out front for the first 58 laps before Ron Silk led lap 59. Beatty fought back and led from laps 60 through 86. Then Ted Christopher took his first lead on lap 87 but Beatty again took the lead back right away and led from lap 88 to 110. On lap 111 right after a restart Christopher passed Beatty again to take the lead.

The final caution came out on lap 168 when rookie Jimmy Zacharias crashed. He would finish in 17th. On the ensuing restart at lap 174 Goodale battled with Christopher and on lap 176 took the lead and went on to win the Hoosier Tire 200.

Justin Bonsignore was the points leader entering the race but a lap 102 accident with Glen Reen caused suspension damage to his car and he finished 16 laps down in 16th place and dropped to third in points. Reen finished one lap down in 14th. Patrick Emerling was 15th and the only other drivers running at the finish were Wade Cole in 18th and Woody Pitkat in 20th.

Notable drivers out of the race at the end were Donny Lia in 21st, Rowan Pennink 22nd, and Todd Szegedy in 28th.

Moving into the points lead after five races is the 2012 champion Doug Coby. He is the only driver that has scored top 10's in all five races this season. Bobby Santos is second in points and trails by a slim seven points. Justin Bonsignore is eight points back in third. Ted Christopher is 10 points behind in fourth and Woody Pitkat is 20 points back in fifth. The rest of the top 10 is Ron Silk in sixth, Timmy Solomito seventh, Eric Goodale eighth, Ryan Preece ninth, and Patrick Emerling tenth.

The tour's top drivers will race Friday, July 11 in the non-points Whelen All-Star Shootout at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. Then on Saturday, July 12 a Whelen Modified Tour points race will be held with the running of the New Hampshire 100.

Tags: Bobby Santos, Doug Coby, Eric Goodale, John Beatty Jr, Justin Bonsignore, Matt Hirschman, Motorsports, NASCAR, NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, Ryan Preece, Ted Christopher, Timmy Solomito

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: