News Archives

Simon Pagenaud Wins First Career IndyCar Series Pole for Race 1 of the Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston

June 28th, 2014 at 1:00 PM
By Mark Eddinger

On Saturday Simon Pagenaud topped the Firestone Fast Six group to win his first career Verizon IndyCar Series Verizon P1 Award and will start Race 1 of the Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston presented by the Greater Houston Honda Dealers from the pole position. It is the first pole position for Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports since the 2011 season.

Simon Pagenaud from Flickr via Wylio? 2012 Nic Redhead, Flickr | CC-BY-SA | via Wylio

"The car is awesome and has been all weekend," Pagenaud said. "It's going to be a long and physical race, but we'll be ready."

Helio Castroneves for Team Penske will start in second place on the front row with Pagenaud for the standing start that will be used.

Scott Dixon will start third for Target Chip Ganassi Racing. Luca Filippi will start from fourth in his fifth career IndyCar Series start and first of the 2014 season. It is also his debut race with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing. James Hinchcliffe of Andretti Autosport will start fifth with Takuma Sato of AJ Foyt Racing in sixth.

Roudning out the top 10 are Justin Wilson in seventh, Indy 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay in eighth, Sebastien Bourdais ninth, and Mikhail Aleshin tenth. Other notables in the field include Juan Pablo Montoya in 11th, Graham Rahal 14th, Marco Andretti 16th, and Tony Kanaan 22nd.

Points leader Will Power of Team Penske will start from 18th in the 23 car field for the 90-lap race which is the first of a doubleheader this weekend at the 10-turn street course in Houston at NRG Park Stadium Circuit.

Race 1 can be seen at 3 p.m. ET today on NBCSN and Race 2 will be Sunday.

Tags: Helio Castroneves, IndyCar Series, Luca Filippi, Motorsports, NRG Park Stadium Circuit, Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports, Scott Dixon, Simon Pagenaud, Takuma Sato, Team Penske, Will Power

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: