News Archives

Brad Keselowski Wins Pole for NASCAR Nationwide Series Race at Kentucky Speedway

June 27th, 2014 at 5:33 PM
By Mark Eddinger

Brad Keselowski won the pole for tonight's John R. Elliott HERO Campaign 300 NASCAR Nationwide Series race at Kentucky Speedway in the No. 22 Ford for Team Penske. It is his second pole of the 2014 season in his fifth start. He now has 16 career Nationwide Series poles.

Keselowski won the pole with a lap time of 30.802 seconds in Round 3 of knockout qualifying. Kyle Busch was the final car out in the five minute session in his No. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota and qualified second at 30.990 seconds.

Paul Menard will start in third position with Matt Kenseth fourth, Brian Scott fifth, Chase Elliott sixth, Kevin Harvick seventh, Ty Dillon eighth, Ryan Blaney ninth, and Elliott Sadler tenth. Rounding out the top 12 that were in the third and final round were Kyle Larson in 11th and Brendan Gaughan 12th.

Menard was fastest in the first qualifying round and Ryan Blaney was quickest in the second.

Trevor Bayne will start 13th, Regan Smith 14th, Ryan Reed 15th, Ryan Sieg 16th, Dylan Kwasniewski 17th, Chris Buescher 18th, James Buescher 19th, and JJ Yeley 20th. Other notables in the starting field of 40 cars are Corey LaJoie making his season debut in the No. 98 Biagi-DenBeste Racing Ford in 21st, Landon Cassill 23rd, Mike Bliss 24th, and Dakoda Armstrong 25th.

There were 43 cars at the track meaning three teams went home. They were Chad Boat in the No. 84, Kevin Lepage in the No. 74, and Tommy Joe Martins in the No. 76.

The John R. Elliott HERO Campaign 300 can be seen at 7:30 p.m. ET tonight on ESPN.

Tags: Brad Keselowski, Brian Scott, Chase Elliott, John R. Elliott HERO Campaign 300, Kentucky Speedway, Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch, Kyle Larson, matt kenseth, Motorsports, NASCAR, NASCAR Nationwide Series, Paul Menard, Regan Smith, Ryan Blaney

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: