News Archives

Kyle Busch Dominates UNOH 225 at Kentucky Speedway, Wins 40th Career Truck Race

June 26th, 2014 at 11:32 PM
By Clayton Caldwell

It was an all Kyle Busch Motorsports day at Kentucky Speedway as the organization sat on the front row and they dominated the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at Kentucky Speedway.  Kyle Busch led 91 of the races 150 laps and won his 40th career NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race. Busch was proud of his organization’s performance.

  “Pretty cool to be nine out of the last 12 in the truck series,” Busch said in victory lane.

Darrell Wallace Jr for KBM finished second. Wallace was the only one who could compete with Kyle Busch all night long. For Busch he has now won all five Truck Series races he has been in this season and has won six in a row dating back to 2013. For Kyle Busch Motorsports they have now won nine of the last 12 Truck Series races dating back to 2013.

Ryan Blaney finished in the third position with Timothy Peters finishing fourth. Brad Keselowski finished in the fifth position. Matt Crafton finished in the sixth spot with Austin Dillon coming home seventh. Ron Hornaday Jr finished in the eighth spot with Johnny Sauter finishing ninth and Ben Kennedy finished in the tenth spot.

Busch and Wallace led the field to the green flag for the 150 lap event. On the initial start John Wes Townley hit the wall causing the races first caution flag. Townley would continue after minimal damage.

Wallace led the field to the green after passing Busch right before the caution flew. Wallace took off on the lap seven restart. One lap later the races’ second caution flag flew when Bryan Silas spun on the front stretch. The race would restart on lap 13 with Wallace continuing to pace the field.

On lap 36 Wallace got caught in lap traffic and Kyle Busch would regain the lead in turn one. On lap 49 green flag pit stops would begin. Corey LaJoie, who was making his first career NASCAR Camping World Truck Series start, would speed on pit road during the stops. The pit stops would cycle around by lap 58 and on lap 60 the races’ third caution flag would fly for debris.

Busch and Wallace were on the front row for the lap 65 restart and Busch pulled away with the lead. By lap 75, the halfway point of the race the top five consisted of Kyle Busch, Darrell Wallace Jr, German Quiroga, Brad Keselowski and Ryan Blaney.

On lap 76 the races fourth caution flag flew when John Wes Townley found trouble again in turn four. Some of the leaders would pit but Brad Keselowski and Max Gresham did not pit and would lead the field to the lap 82 restart.

Keselowski shot to the lead off the restart and Keselowski would lead for the next 10 laps. On lap 92 Kyle Busch got the second position and by lap 95 Busch was back in the lead, passing Keselowski.

Three laps later the races’ fifth caution flag flew when Jeb Burton hit the wall hard. Burton would have significant damage on his Toyota and would not be able to continue. Burton finished 27th.

The leaders would pit on that caution flag and Brad Keselowski was black flagged after carrying a wrench out of his pit box. Keselowski would start the lap 104 restart in the rear of the field.

Meanwhile in the front of the field, Kyle Busch would lead and pull away from the field. Busch began to set a blistering pace on the field and by lap 131 his lead was over three and a half seconds.

The races’ sixth and final caution flag flew on lap 139 when oil dropped from Bryan Silas’ Chevrolet. Silas  finished one lap down in 16th.

Some of the field would pit but Busch and Darrell Wallace Jr stayed out under the caution. They led the field to the lap 143 restart. After an initial fight from Wallace, Busch would pull away with the lead and win his sixth consecutive NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race.

Other notables in the field included Max Gresham in 11th, Joey Coulter in 12th, Tayler Malsam in 13th, Joe Nemechek in 14th, German Quiroga in 15th and Corey LaJoie in 17th.

Johnny Sauter continues to lead the points after the UNOH 225 at Kentucky Speedway. Matt Crafton is second in the points and he is eight points behind. Third in the standings is Timothy Peters who is 11 points behind. Ryan Blaney is fourth in the standings 12 points back with Ron Hornaday Jr fifth in the standings 13 points behind. German Quiroga is sixth with Ben Kennedy in seventh and Darrell Wallace Jr in eighth. Ninth in the points is John Wes Townley and Joey Coulter rounds out the top ten in points.

The next race on the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series schedule is the American Ethanol 200 at Iowa Speedway on Friday July 11th.

Tags: Darrell Wallace Jr., Kentucky Speedway, Kyle Busch, Kyle Busch Motorsports, Motorsports, NASCAR, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, UNOH 225

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: