News Archives

Audi’s Marcel Fassler, Andre Lotterer and Beniot Treluyer Win Third 24 Hours of Le Mans

June 15th, 2014 at 1:42 PM
By Mark Eddinger

For the 13th time and now 10 of the last 11 Audi has won the 24 Hours of Le Mans. On Sunday Marcel Fassler, Andre Lotterer and Beniot Treluyer drove the No. 2 Audi to victory in the 82nd edition of the world's most famous endurance race. For the trio of drivers it is the third time they have won the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

'Ferrari & Aston' photo (c) 2007, Mike Roberts - license:

They finished three laps ahead of the No. 1 Audi team of Lucas di Grassi, Marc Gene and Tom Kristensen.

“We did like in 2011,” Treluyer told Eurosport. “We stayed calm and attacked when we needed to. Andre (Lotterer) really put the pressure on Porsche at the right time."

The Porsche Treluyer talked about was the No. 20 with the company making its first Le Mans start in the premier class in 16 years. In the 22nd hour when Timo Bernhard was behind the wheel the Porsche team retired because of drivetrain issues. That is when the No. 2 Audi team took over the lead.

The No. 8 Toyota team took third overall with drivers Sebastien Buemi, Anthony Davidson and Nicolas Lapierre. They were five laps behind the winner. The No. 7 Toyota team that won the pole position retired while leading in the 15th hour because of electrical problems.

In the 17th hour the No. 2 Audi team went to the garage to fix a turbocharger issue. They would return though after momentarily thinking their chances of winning were over. In the 21st hour the No. 1 Audi team which took the lead when the No. 2 had its issue also developed a turbocharger issue that it had to stop and fix. That gave the lead to the No. 20 Porsche until their drivetrain issue ended their race.

The No. 8 Toyota team had to fight back from adversity to finish third when in the second hour a sudden downpour hit the track and Lapierre hit the barrier and then clipped the No. 3 Audi of Marco Bonanomi and sent him hard into the barrier ending that team's race. The race went under a safety car period for 40 minutes.

Simon Dolan, Harry Tincknell and Oliver Turvey finished fifth overall in the Zytek-Nissan No. 38 and was the top finisher in the LMP2 class.

Gianmaria Bruni, Toni Vilander, Giancarlo Fisichella won the GTE Pro category in the Ferrari No. 51 entry. Kristian Poulsen, David Heinemeier Hansson and Nicki Thiim finished first in the GTE Am class in the Aston Martin No. 95 entry.

At the end 36 of the 54 cars that started the 24 Hours of Le Mans were running.

Tags: 24 Hours of Le Mans, Andre Lotterer, Aston Martin, Audi, Beniot Treluyer, Lucas di Grassi, Marc Gene, Marcel Fassler, Motorsports, Nicolas Lapierre, Sebastien Buemi, Timo Bernhard, Tom Kristensen

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: