News Archives

Kyle Busch Wins Pole with NASCAR Nationwide Series Track Record at Michigan International Speedway

June 14th, 2014 at 12:23 PM
By Mark Eddinger

In a flurry of one lap action right at the end of the five minute Round 3 of NASCAR Nationwide Series knockout qualifying Saturday morning it was Kyle Busch who earned the pole position for today's Ollie's Bargain Outlet 250 at Michigan International Speedway. He set a new track record with an average speed of 193.242 mph which beat out Paul Menard's speed of 193.138 mph which he laid down in Round 2. It is also the fourth fastest qualifying speed in Nationwide Series history at any track.

'IMG_4990' photo (c) 2012, Parker Anderson - license:

All 12 cars in Round 3 waited until about one minute left in the session to leave pit road as the drivers wanted to not be the first car off pit lane so they could utilize the draft at the two mile track. Going into Turn 1 Joey Logano was right on the rear of Elliott Sadler which got Sadler's car loose and he slid up the track and got out of the gas ruining his lap. Behind them Dale Earnhardt Jr seemed to get distracted by Sadler getting loose and also went up the track and almost hit the wall. Earnhardt Jr will start 11th and Sadler 12th.

The pole for Kyle Busch is the third of his 2014 season and the 39th of his Nationwide Series career. Starting with Busch on the front row will be Chase Elliott. Ty Dillon will roll off third, Kyle Larson fourth, and Paul Menard fifth. Menard was fastest in both of Friday's practice sessions and the first two rounds of qualifying.

Starting sixth will be Brian Scott with Dylan Kwasniewski seventh, Regan Smith eighth, Joey Logano ninth, and Chris Buescher tenth.

Not making it to Round 3 were the drivers starting between 13th and 24th. They are Sam Hornish Jr in 13th, Trevor Bayne 14th, Ryan Sieg 15th, Brendan Gaughan 16th, Ross Chastain 17th, Dakoda Armstrong 18th, Mike Bliss 19th, JJ Yeley 20th, James Buescher 21st, Blake Koch 22nd, Jamie Dick 23rd, and Ryan Reed 24th. Landon Cassill will start 26th after not making it out of Round 1.

In Round 1 there were two red flag stoppages of the 25 minute clock. The first was for a crash by Jeffrey Earnhardt and the second for a blown engine by Matt Dibenedetto. There were 43 cars at Michigan meaning three teams did not make the race. They were the No. 46 team of Matt Dibenedetto, the No. 76 team of Tommy Joe Martins, and the No. 89 team of Morgan Shepherd.

The Ollie's Bargain Outlet 250 can be seen today at 1:30 p.m. ET on ESPN.

Tags: Brian Scott, Chase Elliott, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Elliott Sadler, Joey Logano, Kyle Busch, Kyle Larson, michigan international speedway, Motorsports, NASCAR, NASCAR Nationwide Series, Paul Menard, Regan Smith, Ty Dillon

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: