News Archives

Will Power Wins Firestone 600 Pole at Texas Motor Speedway

June 6th, 2014 at 4:59 PM
By Mark Eddinger

Verizon IndyCar Series points leader Will Power and his Team Penske team earned his second Verizon P1 Award of the season on Friday at Texas Motor Speedway and will start the Firestone 600 from the pole position on Saturday night. Power turned a two-lap average of 218.896 mph to move into sixth all-time with his 35th career pole.

'IndyCar-019' photo (c) 2013, Bryce Womeldurf - license:

Josef Newgarden will start on the front row at the 1.455 mile track for Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing after qualifying second. Tony Kanaan will start third, Juan Pablo Montoya fourth, Ed Carpenter fifth, Simon Pagenaud sixth, Scott Dixon seventh, Justin Wilson eighth, James Hinchcliffe ninth, and rookie Carlos Munoz tenth.

The rest of the starting lineup for the Firestone 600 is as follows. Rookie Mikhail Aleshin will start 11th, Ryan Hunter-Reay 12th, Ryan Briscoe 13th, Helio Castroneves,the 2013 Texas winner, will start 14th, Charlie Kimball 15th, Takuma Sato 16th, Marco Andretti 17th, Sebastien Bourdais 18th, Sebastian Saavedra 19th,rookie Jack Hawksworth 20th, Graham Rahal 21st, and rookie Carlos Huertas 22nd.

There will be a final practice from 7:45 p.m. until 8:15 p.m. ET tonight before Saturday night's 600 kilometer race which can be seen at 8 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

Tags: Josef Newgarden, Juan Pablo Montoya, Motorsports, Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing, Scott Dixon, Team Penske, Texas Motor Speedway, tony kanaan, Will Power

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: