News Archives

Nico Rosberg Wins Monaco Grand Prix Pole; Set to Defend Last Year’s Win

May 24th, 2014 at 11:06 AM
By Mark Eddinger

Nico Rosberg won his sixth career Formula One pole and second of the 2014 season on Saturday at the Monaco Grand Prix but it did not come without controversy. With the fastest time in the books Rosberg was looking to improve but with 30 seconds left in Q3 missed a corner and almost hit the wall. His Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton was also on track with a first sector time that had him on pole pace but the local yellow meant he had to slow down. That preserved the pole for Rosberg.

'Monaco' photo (c) 2007, TiM_BiG - license:

The pole was earned by Rosberg, who won in Monte Carlo last season from the pole, with a lap of 1:15.989. Hamilton, who was fastest in Q2, will line up on the front row of the grid on Sunday with his teammate and championship rival.

Daniel Ricciardo and Sebastian Vettel of Red Bull Racing will start in row two after they earned third and fourth in Q3. In row three will be the Ferrari teammates Fernando Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen after qualifying fifth and sixth. Starting seventh will be Jean-Eric Vergne of Toro Rosso. He was fastest in Q1. Starting eighth will be rookie Kevin Magnussen for McLaren. Rookie Daniil Kvyat crashed in Q1 but his Toro Rosso team put a new nose on his car and he advanced to Q2 by being 16th fastest. Then he also advanced to Q3 and qualified ninth. Rounding out Q3 and starting tenth will be the Force India of Sergio Perez.

Not making it out of Q2 were the Force India of Nico Hulkenberg, who will start 11th, Jenson Button for McLaren in 12th, Valtteri Bottas of Williams Martini Racing in 13th, Romain Grosjean of Lotus in 14th, and Pastor Maldonado of Lotus in 15th. Qualifying 16th but not making a Q2 run was Felipe Massa's Williams. That was because with less than a minute left in the Q1 session the Caterham of Marcus Ericsson tangled with the Williams Martini Racing car of Felipe Massa doing damage to both.

Not making it out of Q1 were the both Sauber, Marussia, and Caterham drivers and they will start in positions 17 to 22.

Sunday's Monaco Grand Prix can be seen live Sunday morning at 7:30 a.m. ET on NBC as it kicks off a great Memorial Day weekend triple header that will be followed by the Indianapolis 500 and Coca-Cola 600.

Tags: Daniel Ricciardo, Fernando Alonso, Formula One, Jean-Eric Vergne, Kimi Raikkonen, Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, Monaco Grand Prix, Motorsports, Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Vettel

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: