News Archives

Kevin Harvick Wins Pole for 5-Hour Energy 400 Benefiting Special Operations Warrior Foundation at Kansas Speedway

May 9th, 2014 at 8:14 PM
By Clayton Caldwell

Kevin Harvick won the pole for Saturday night's 5-Hour Energy 400 Benefiting Special Operations Warrior Foundation. It's Harvick's eighth career NASCAR Sprint Cup Series pole and the second of his 2014 season. Harvick was also the fastest in the second round of qualifying. 

Starting in the second position is Joey Logano with Brad Keselowski starting in the third position and Carl Edwards will start fourth. Starting in the fifth spot is Kyle Larson with Kurt Busch starting in the sixth position. Starting in the seventh spot is Ryan Newman with Tony Stewart starting eighth, Danica Patrick ninth and Greg Biffle will start tenth. Jamie McMurray will roll off from the 11th spot with Aric Almirola starting 12th. 

Those 12 drivers advanced to the final round of qualifying. Drivers starting in positions 13-24 made the second round of qualifying but failed to make the final round. 

'Kansas Speedway' photo (c) 2009, David Reber - license:

Starting in the 13th position is Jeff Gordon with teammate Jimmie Johnson starting from 14th. Starting in the 15th spot is Brian Vickers with Paul Menard starting in the 16th spot. Starting 17th is Kasey Kahne with Justin Allgaier starting from the 18th spot. Starting in the 19th position is rookie Austin Dillon with Ricky Stenhouse Jr starting from the 20th spot. Ryan Blaney will start from the 21st position. Blaney will make his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series debut this weekend at Kansas driving a third Team Penske entry. 

Starting in the 22nd spot is Dale Earnhardt Jr with Clint Bowyer and Kyle Busch rounding out the rest of the top 24. 

Other notables in the field include Marcos Ambrose in 25th, Martin Truex Jr in 26th, Matt Kenseth in 28th and Denny Hamlin in 30th. 

There were 44 cars entered for the 5-Hour Energy 400 Benefiting Special Operations Warrior Foundation at Kansas Speedway which means one car went home. That driver was Dave Blaney, who qualified in the 40th position but did not have enough owner points to make the race. Dave Blaney and his son Ryan were the trying to become the first father-son duo to race in a Sprint Cup Series race since Bobby Hamilton and Bobby Hamilton Jr accomplished the feat back in October 2005. 

The 5-Hour Energy 400 Benefiting Special Operations Warrior Foundation begins at 7:46 p.m. ET on Saturday night and can be seen on FOX. 

Tags: Brad Keselowski, Carl Edwards, Joey Logano, kansas speedway, Kevin Harvick, Motorsports, NASCAR, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: