News Archives

Dylan Kwasniewski Earns Pole for ARCA Racing Series Race at Daytona International Speedway

February 14th, 2014 at 8:45 PM
By Mark Eddinger

Dylan Kwasniewski is now two-for-two in winning poles in the ARCA Racing Series after driving the No. 4 Turner Scott Motorsports Chevrolet to the pole position for Saturday’s Lucas Oil 200 presented by MAVTV American Real ARCA Racing Series race at Daytona International Speedway. He won the pole at Kansas Speedway to end the 2013 season in his first career start.

'Daytona International Speedway' photo (c) 2009, Nancy Nally - license:

Kwasniewski turned a lap of 182.186 mph and when Bobby Gerhart's time was disallowed due to his No. 5 car having a rear suspension violation the 18-year-old was awarded the pole.

“Turner Scott Motorsports obviously gave me a great car and the ability to start up front,” Kwasniewski said. “All I have to do tomorrow is do the best I can. I’m really excited. Starting on the front row at Daytona is great. Not many people get to say they’ve done that.” 
Grant Enfinger will start second and Buster Graham third with Mark Thompson fourth and Chase Elliott fifth. Mason Mitchell will roll off sixth, Tom Hessert seventh, Will Kimmel eighth, John Wes Townley ninth, and Terry Jones tenth.

Gerhart was not the only one that ran into post-qualifying technical inspection issues as four of the top 10 cars had their times disallowed and a fifth team was disqualified from Saturday's race altogether. Gerhart will start from 40th after using a provisional. Justin Boston's No. 25 car failed inspection for a coil spring mount violation and will start from 31st. Leilani Munter had the same issue on her No. 55 car and will start from 33rd. Tyler Reddick had his times disallowed of his No. 22 car because of a rear suspension violation and he will start 32nd.
The No. 23 car of Spencer Gallagher was disqualified for the use of a mechanical lowering device.
Other notables in the starting lineup are Justin Allison in 12th, Clay Campbell 15th, Frank Kimmel 16th, and Jeb Burton in 21st.
Saturday's 80-lap race will air live at 4:30 p.m. ET on Fox Sports 1.
Tags: ARCA Racing Series, Bobby Gerhart, Buster Graham, Chase Elliott, Daytona International Speedway, Dylan Kwasniewski, Frank Kimmel, Grant Enfinger, Jeb Burton, Justin Boston, Leilani Munter, Motorsports, Spencer Gallagher, Turner Scott Motorsports, Tyler Reddick

Related posts

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: