News Archives

Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates Name is Back in NASCAR

January 9th, 2014 at 8:58 PM
By Mark Eddinger

The team that will field the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series cars for Jamie McMurray and Kyle Larson in 2014 will go back to its old name of Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates. From the 2009 through the 2013 seasons the team was called Earnhardt Ganassi Racing when the organizations of Dale Earnhardt Incorporated and Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates merged.

'Jamie McMurray' photo (c) 2012, Mike Kalasnik - license:

Teresa Earnhardt has not been involved recently in the day-to-day operations of the team and now the Earnhardt name is being removed altogether. Nothing major is expected to change within the team though other than the name.

The sign outside the shop in North Carolina already reads Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates and the logos on the cars and on the uniforms of drivers and pit crew members will have the Chip Ganassi logo instead of the EGR logo.

Jamie McMurray had four of his seven career wins under the EGR banner and his first win came in 2002 when the team was Chip Ganassi Racing. He also won twice with Roush Fenway Racing in between his stints with Ganassi's organization. Kyle Larson will be in his first season with the team after working his way up the NASCAR ranks the past few seasons as a developmental driver for the team. Larson will run for the Rookie of the Year honors.

Tags: Chip Ganassi, Chip Ganassi Racing, Dale Earnhardt Incorporated, EGR, Felix Sabates, Jamie McMurray, Kyle Larson, Motorsports, NASCAR, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, Teresa Earnhardt

Related posts

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: