News Archives

Swan Racing Adds Crew Chiefs and Settles on Car Numbers

January 7th, 2014 at 8:43 PM
By Mark Eddinger

On Tuesday Swan Racing announced that Parker Kligerman will drive the No. 30 and Cole Whitt will drive the No. 26 as both compete for the 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Rookie of the Year.

'6.22.13 Road America / NASCAR Johnsonville Sausage 200 - Cole Whitt' photo (c) 2013, Royal Broil - license:

Steven Lane will serve as crew chief for Kligerman and the No. 30 team. In 2013 Lane was a crew chief at Front Row Motorsports and Swan Racing and worked with Kligerman during his two races with the team. Lane will also be the competition director for Swan Racing.

Randy Cox has been named the crew chief for Cole Whitt and the No. 26 team. The two worked together last season in 12 Nationwide Series races and also in Whitt's first two Cup starts in 2011 with Red Bull Racing.

"Things are shaping up for the team," said Swan Racing general manager Bray Pemberton in a team release.  "We expect to make more announcements in the near future about new partners and sponsors."

The team finished 33rd with the No. 30 car in 2013 owner points and has made the choice to expand to two full time teams and really try to build their operation. Swan Racing used the No. 26 in last year's Daytona 500 with Michael Waltrip driving a car to honor the 26 victims from the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting. 

The 22-year-old Whitt has 14 career Cup starts over the past three years including seven with Swan Racing in 2013. The 23-year-old Kligerman made his first two starts in Cup last season for Swan Racing.

Tags: Bray Pemberton, Cole Whitt, Motorsports, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, Parker Kligerman, Randy Cox, Steven Lane, Swan Racing

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: