News Archives

Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates Announces Rolex 24 at Daytona Lineup

January 4th, 2014 at 7:09 PM
By Mark Eddinger

This weekend is the Roar Before the Rolex 24 test session at Daytona International Speedway and on Friday Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates announced the eight man driver lineup for their two Prototype category entries. CGRFS is a seven-time and reigning GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series champion and five-time and reigning Rolex 24 at Daytona champion.

'6.23.12 Road America / Grand Am - DP 01 Chip Ganassi Racing : Scott Pruett / Memo Rojas' photo (c) 2012, Royal Broil - license:

Scott Pruett, Memo Rojas, Jamie McMurray, and Sage Karam will team in the No. 01 Telcel/Target/Comfort Revolution Ford EcoBoost Riley while Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Kyle Larson, and Marino Franchitti will be in the No. 02 Target/Telcel/Big Machine Records Ford EcoBoost Riley.

For Larson, who will run for Earnhardt-Ganassi Racing for the Rookie of the Year in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, it will be his Sports Car debut and add yet another type of car that the 21-year-old has driven.

“It feels like I’m in a dream of some sort,’’ Larson said. “It’s going to be a big year for me with the Sprint Cup Series and adding this to the list of races I get to run.”
Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas were announced as the season long drivers that will compete in the inaugural IMSA-sanctioned TUDOR United SportsCar Championship. In seven seasons together in the GRAND-AM era of the Rolex Sports Car Series the duo was the most successful of any pair in the history of the series.
McMurray has competed in six career Sports Car events and is looking for his first victory. Sage Karam was the 2013 Indy Lights champion. The 18-year-old won three of the 12 races last year and had nine podium finishes. Scott Dixon of course was the 2013 IndyCar Series champion and a winner in the Rolex 24 at Daytona in 2006. The 2013 Indy 500 champion Tony Kanaan will compete in his fourth ever Sports Car race. Marino Franchitti is a Sports Car veteran who was a member of a GX class team in last seasons race at Daytona.
The Rolex 24 at Daytona will take place on January 25th and 26th.
Tags: Chip Ganassi, Daytona International Speedway, Felix Sabates, Jamie McMurray, Kyle Larson, Marino Franchitti, Memo Rojas, Motorsports, Rolex 24, Sage Karam, Scott Dixon, Scott Pruett, tony kanaan

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: