News Archives

Roush Fenway Racing Announces Crew Chief Changes for 2014

November 19th, 2013 at 2:57 PM
By Clayton Caldwell

Roush Fenway Racing has announced a few crew chief changes regarding the NASCAR Sprint Cup and NASCAR Nationwide Series efforts for the 2014 season. It starts with the #17 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series team as two time Nationwide Series championship winning crew chief Mike Kelley will move to the #17 Ford in the Sprint Cup Series with driver Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Stenhouse and Kelley teamed up for back to back NASCAR Nationwide Series titles in 2011 and 2012. Stenhouse is excited to be back with Mike Kelley

"It’s really exciting to team back up with Mike,” said Stenhouse, the 2013 Sprint Cup Rookie of the Year. “Obviously we have a great chemistry and we have had a great deal of success in the past. Scott (Graves) did a great job of guiding us through our rookie season this year and we look forward to continuing that growth next season."

Stenhouse had three top ten finishes in 2013 and finished 21st in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series standings. Kelley brings 266 races of experience from the Nationwide Series with him with 12 wins. 

Replacing Kelley on the #6 NASCAR Nationwide Series car is Chad Norris. Norris was the crew chief for Travis Pastrana in 2013 and will join Trevor Bayne in 2014 on the Advocare Ford. Bayne comes off a season where he finished sixth in the NASCAR Nationwide Series point standings with one win. Norris and Bayne had previously worked together in the 2011 and 2012 seasons. 

Scott Graves, who was the crew chief for Stenhouse's #17 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series effort in 2013, will join Chris Buescher in 2014 as crew chief of the #60 NASCAR Nationwide Series Ford. Buescher will run his first full time season in the Nationwide Series in 2014. 

Crew chief Seth Barbour will head the #16 NASCAR Nationwide Series effort with Ryan Reed behind the wheel full time in 2014. Barbour impressed in his part time stint on top the #16 NASCAR Nationwide Series pit box in 2013. 

"As with any season we always sit down at the end of the year and evaluate where we are, what we have and what we think are the best options to put our teams in the best position to compete for wins and championships,” said team owner Jack Roush

The team also announced that Jimmy Fennig will return to the #99 Ford in the Sprint Cup Series with Carl Edwards and Matt Puccia will return as Greg Biffle's crew chief in 2014.

You need to satisfy your competitive drive, so why not beat our experts in fantasy football. At FightClub, our official Fantasy Football partner, you can change you team weekly and win cash. Get a free $5 credit when you sign up and try them out. And each week, Sports Media 101 will sweeten the pot and award the player with top points an extra $25. Match-up and show them how good you are. Can you handle FightClub?

Your man cave is your home field advantage for every game. When the game is on the line, you should be able to look around and be reminded of the great moments you've watched unfold in that very room! MJR Sports Integrity offers a wide range or team and player-specific memorabilia that can do just that and take your game day room to the next level. Find your inspiration at MJR Sports Integrity and will your team to victory!

Tags: Chad Norris, Chris Buescher, mike Kelley, Motorsports, NASCAR, NASCAR Nationwide Series, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, ricky stenhouse jr, roush fenway racing, Ryan Reed, Scott Graves, Seth Barbour, Trevor Bayne

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: