News Archives

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Full of News Heading into Season Finale at Homestead

November 15th, 2013 at 9:00 AM
By Mark Eddinger

Matt Crafton only needs to take the green flag tonight at Homestead-Miami Speedway to win the 2013 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship. On Thursday it was learned that he will be back to defend his championship with the same team.

Both Crafton and Menards have signed contract extensions with ThorSport Racing to keep the No. 88 Toyota Tundra team in place for 2014. It will be his tenth season with the team where he has won three races and finished top 10 in points in eight of his nine seasons with the team.

ThorSport Racing also announced that Johnny Sauter has signed a multi-year contract extension to stay as the driver of the No. 98 Toyota Tundra for the team. The 2014 season will mark the sixth year for Sauter with ThorSport and he has scored nine wins including three this season.

Another team that announced plans for 2014 on Thursday was Brad Keselowski Racing. Cooper Standard has signed an extension with the team and will be primary sponsor on the No. 29 Ford F-150 driven full time once again by Ryan Blaney. Draw Tite and Reece which are Cequent brands will be sponsors on Brad Keselowski's No. 19 Ford F-150 through the 2017 season after signing a three year extension starting in 2015. No driver lineup has been announced for the truck in 2014 yet but Keselowski, Joey Logano, and Ross Chastain split the 22 race schedule in 2013.

Earlier in the week Kyle Busch sounded optimistic that he will be able to keep his Truck Series operation going in 2014 and plans are lining up to have Darrell Wallace Jr back full time in the No. 54 Toyota Tundra. He also would like to split the season in a second truck with Erik Jones, who became the youngest winner in series history last weekend at Phoenix.

There will also be some faces in different trucks for tonight's Ford EcoBoost 200 at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Austin Dillon will drive the No. 6 Sharp-Gallaher Racing Chevrolet Silverado. Nelson Piquet Jr has been named the driver for NTS Motorsports in the No. 9 Chevrolet Silverado after the team let Ron Hornaday Jr go after last week's race. Hornaday will be in the No. 34 Turner Scott Motorsports Chevrolet Silverado instead.

Frank Kimmel will drive a third ThorSport Racing Toyota Tundra as he will be in the No. 13 truck. Travis Kvapil, the 2003 champion will drive the No. 93 RSS Racing Chevrolet Silverado for his first truck start of the year. Last year's Homestead winner Cale Gale will drive the No. 33 Chevrolet Silverado for Turner-Scott Motorsports.

The Ford EcoBoost 200 can be seen at 8 p.m. ET on Fox Sports 1.

You need to satisfy your competitive drive, so why not beat our experts in fantasy football. At FightClub, our official Fantasy Football partner, you can change you team weekly and win cash. Get a free $5 credit when you sign up and try them out. And each week, Sports Media 101 will sweeten the pot and award the player with top points an extra $25. Match-up and show them how good you are. Can you handle FightClub?

Your man cave is your home field advantage for every game. When the game is on the line, you should be able to look around and be reminded of the great moments you've watched unfold in that very room! MJR Sports Integrity offers a wide range or team and player-specific memorabilia that can do just that and take your game day room to the next level. Find your inspiration at MJR Sports Integrity and will your team to victory!

Tags: Austin Dillon, Brad Keselowski, Cale Gale, Camping World Truck Series, Erik Jones, Frank Kimmel, Homestead-Miami Speedway, Joey Logano, Johnny Sauter, Kyle Busch, Matt Crafton, Motorsports, NASCAR, Ryan Blaney, ThorSport Racing

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: