News Archives

James Buescher Passes Kyle Busch Late to Win the National Guard 200 at Michigan International Speedway

August 17th, 2013 at 3:27 PM
By Mark Eddinger

Defending Camping World Truck Series champion James Buescher made an impressive pass on race leader Kyle Busch with four laps to go and then pulled away for the win over the final three laps at Michigan International Speedway on Saturday. It was the first broadcast of the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series on the new Fox Sport 1. The win was the first of the 2013 season for Buescher and the fifth of his career.

"His first time at the racetrack, we got Stetson in victory lane. Proud papa right now." Buescher said of having his newborn son in victory lane with him. "I got to thank everyone on this team they never give up."

'James Buescher' photo (c) 2012, Mike Kalasnik - license:

Buescher was running third working lap 96 of 100 and was behind Kyle Busch and Brendan Gaughan entering Turn 3. He went to the low side of Gaughan and then Busch also slipped up by getting loose. That allowed Buescher to get under Busch as well and take the lead off Turn 4. From there he powered away in his Turner Scott Motorsports No. 31 Rheem Chevrolet.

Kyle Busch had to settle for his fourth second place finish at Michigan in a truck as he remains winless at the track in the series.

The race started with Jeb Burton on his fourth pole of the season. The races first caution came out on lap 1 though when Darrell Wallace Jr cut low off Turn 2 into Ryan Blaney which sent Blaney's truck hard into the inside wall on the backstretch. Blaney finished in last place which was 32nd.

The race restarted on lap 7 with Burton still on the front row with Brendan Gaughan. Burton remained strong early and he and Matt Crafton began to pull away from the rest of the trucks. Brett Moffitt got into the outside wall on lap 12 and had to bring his No. 16 truck down pit road. No caution came out for that contact.

The second caution did come out on lap 16 when Jennifer Jo Cobb's truck stopped on the track. Jeb Burton's team held the lead on a fuel only stop with Joey Logano moving to second, Kyle Busch to third, Matt Crafton fourth and Ty Dillon fifth when the race restarted on lap 21.

On lap 25 Burton led over Crafton, Max Gresham, Johnny Sauter, and Joey Logano.

The third caution came out on lap 26 when Joey Logano got Max Gresham loose off of Turn 4 and Gresham spun. Johnny Sauter and Darrell Wallace Jr had nowhere to go and slammed into the spinning Gresham and the outside wall. Gresham finished in 18th, Sauter 20th, and Wallace 21st.

The race restarted on lap 33 with Kyle Busch grabbing the lead from Burton in Turn 3. Burton fought back on lap 34 to regain the lead with his own pass in Turn 3. Kyle Busch then made the pass for the lead on Burton on the high side off Turn 2 on lap 45 to get the lead again. Ty Dillon also used that opportunity to move into second.

At the halfway point on lap 50 Busch led over DIllon, Crafton, Burton, and Logano. Logano then pitted under green on lap 51 but had a long stop because the right-front tire changer could not get the tire off.

The fourth caution then came out for debris on lap 55 for a flat tire by Max Gresham. Logano got the free pass back to the lead lap. Miguel Paludo took the lead on the pit stops by taking two tires. Kyle Busch took four and came off second. Brendan Gaughan was third and Brett Moffitt fourth with two tires. Jeb Burton was fifth. Matt Crafton got a penalty for a tire being out of the box and dropped to the back for the restart. Joining him back there was Ty Dillon as his team dropped the jack on his stop.

The race restarted on lap 60 and Busch led at the line over Paludo at the end of the lap. Paludo fought back and regained the lead on lap 61. The fifth caution then came out on lap 64 when John Wes Townley spun off Turn 4. He kept the truck off the wall and stayed on the lead lap.

On the lap 69 restart Paludo led over Busch still. Joey Logano jumped to second on the start but Busch battled back to second on lap 72. The sixth caution then came out on lap 74 when German Quiroga spun off Turn 2 trying to keep his truck off Brennan Newberry. Quiroga then hit the inside wall on the backstretch similar to where Blaney hit on lap 1. Quiroga finished 19th.

The race restarted on lap 78 with Paludo still leading Busch as he looked for his first career win. Busch though made the pass on Paludo for the lead in Turn 2.

They ran first and second when the seventh caution came out for Brett Moffitt on lap 90. He hit the wall after having a tire go down. Moffitt finished 17th. That set up a restart with six laps to go with Busch ahead of Paludo, James Buescher, Brendan Gaughan, Timothy Peters, and Ty Dillon.

Gaughan jumped to second and with four laps to go was on Busch's bumper. But it was Buescher who made the great move into Turn 3 and when Busch got loose in the middle Buescher scurried on past both Busch and Gaughan for the lead. Busch tried to keep pace but got in a battle with Ty Dillon for second on the final lap.

Busch nosed out Dillon for second. Finishing in fourth was Joey Logano and fifth was Miguel Paludo. Timothy Peters was sixth, John Wes Townley seventh, Brendan Gaughan eighth, Matt Crafton ninth, and Jeb Burton tenth. Ron Hornaday Jr was 11th, Brennan Newberry 12th, Dakoda Armstrong 13th, Joey Coulter 14th, Ryan Sieg 15th, and Bryan Silas 16th.

Matt Crafton still leads the points by 51 over Jeb Burton. James Buescher is now third and 52 points back. Ty Dillon is fourth, Miguel Paludo fifth, Brendan Gaughan sixth, Timothy Peters seventh, Ryan Blaney eighth, Darrell Wallace Jr ninth, and Johnny Sauter tenth. Sauter is 95 points behind.

It is a short break until the trucks hit the track again. They will race on Wednesday night at Bristol Motor Speedway for the UNOH 200.

Gearing up for the fantasy season? Try weekly fantasy football games this year at DraftDay has awarded over $15 million to fantasy fans like you, so don't miss out on the newest way to play fantasy football! Create your free account and use promo code GIFT for an instant cash bonus.

Tags: Brendan Gaughan, Brett Moffitt, Camping World Truck Series, Darrell Wallace Jr., James Buescher, Jeb Burton, Joey Logano, Johnny Sauter, Kyle Busch, Matt Crafton, michigan international speedway, Miguel Paludo, Motorsports, Ryan Blaney, Ty Dillon

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: