News Archives

Austin Dillon Wins Pole for Subway Firecracker 250 at Daytona International Speedway

July 5th, 2013 at 4:07 PM
By Clayton Caldwell

Austin Dillon has been a pole machine in 2013 and Friday Dillon kept that going when he took the pole for the NASCAR Nationwide Series Subway Firecracker 250 at Daytona International Speedway. It's Dillon's ninth career pole and his sixth in the 2013 season. Dillon took the pole at a speed of 178.934 mph. 

Dillon took the pole from Travis Pastrana who will start on the outside of the front row. Starting third is Ty Dillon, in Richard Childress' #33 Chevrolet with Brian Scott starting fourth. Starting fifth in the field is Sam Hornish Jr with Justin Allgaier starting sixth. Starting seventh is Kurt Busch with Trevor Bayne rolling off from the eighth position. Starting ninth is Elliott Sadler and Brad Sweet will round out the top ten. 

Other notables in the field include Regan Smith in 11th, Joey Logano in 14th, Kyle Busch in 15th, Brian Vickers in 18th and Matt Kenseth in 19th. 

There were 42 cars for 40 spots on the entry list for the Subway Firecracker 250, meaning two cars went home. However, Jeff Green, who was in the Tri-Star Motorsports #10 Toyota, qualified in the 20th position. Green's car is a fourth entry for that organization and usually starts and parks. Dexter Stacey, who did not qualify for the race on time, has bought Green's spot in the field and Green and his #10 Toyota team withdrew from the show. Stacey will race and start from the 40th position. 

The Subway Firecracker 250 at Daytona International Speedway will start at 7:50 p.m. ET tonight on ESPN. 

Tags: Austin Dillon, Daytona International Speedway, Motorsports, Subway Firecracker 250, Travis Pastrana

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: