News Archives

NASCAR Confiscates Illegal Parts from 16 Sprint Cup Series Teams

July 4th, 2013 at 11:05 PM
By Clayton Caldwell

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series had two practice sessions at Daytona International Speedway on Thursday and while the Sprint Cup Series race teams were focused on tuning their racecars for Saturday's Coke Zero 400 Powered by Coca-Cola, the big story was that NASCAR had confiscated illegal parts from 16 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series teams prior to both sessions on Thursday. 

All 16 teams had modified their roof flap spacers , which made them lighter. NASCAR spokesman Kerry Tharp said the spacers were "not in compliance"  with the kit that NASCAR hands out to each team prior to each weekend. The teams had to resolve the issues prior to taking the track for practice Thursday. 

The teams involved in the infractions are as follows:

Roush Fenway Racing- #16 Greg Biffle, #17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr and #99 Carl Edwards

Penske Racing- #2 Brad Keselowski, #22 Joey Logano

Richard Petty Motorsports- #9 Marcos Ambrose, #43 Aric Almirola

Joe Gibbs Racing- #11 Denny Hamlin, #18 Kyle Busch, #20 Matt Kenseth

Michael Waltrip Racing- #15 Clint Bowyer, #55 Michael Waltrip, #56 Martin Truex Jr

#1 Jamie McMurray from Earnhardt-Ganassi Racing, #13 Casey Mears from Germain Racing, and #21 Trevor Bayne from Wood Brothers Racing were also involved in the incident. 

NASCAR has stated that penalties are possible for the infractions but won't be announced until Monday or Tuesday.

There were also 15 NASCAR Nationwide Series  teams found with the same violation.

Tags: Motorsports, NASCAR, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: