News Archives

Frank Kimmel Won at Elko Speedway and Ben Kennedy Won at Bowman Gray Stadium on Saturday

June 3rd, 2013 at 4:10 PM
By Mark Eddinger

ARCA Racing Series:

Frank Kimmel is now one win shy of Iggy Katona's ARCA Racing Series record of 79 wins after winning the Akona 250 on Saturday at Elko Speedway in Minnesota. It was the 78th career win for the 9-time series champion and the second of the 2013 season for him.

'Arca Race Saturday June 5 Pocono' photo (c) 2010, BethAnne Heisler - license:

It was his first win at Elko Speedway and only the second time ARCA has raced at the track. He took the lead on lap 200 of 250 from Kyle Benjamin and was able to take his No. 44 ThorSport Racing Toyota to victory lane from there.

Cunningham Motorsports took second and third with Tom Hessert and Jonathan Eilen. Justin Boston finished fourth for Venturini Motorsports and pole sitter Ken Schrader finished fifth for his own team. Josh Williams finished in sixth driving the No. 17 Ford for the Roulo Brothers, he usually drivers the No. 02 but was not going to go to Elko Speedway with that unsponsored team.

Kyle Benjamin was seventh, Spencer Gallagher eighth, and Mason Mingus was the last car on the lead lap in ninth. Thomas Praytor finished in tenth, two laps down for his first top 10 of the 2013 season.

Frank Kimmel led a race high 93 laps, Ken Schrader 75, Tom Hessert 54, Justin Boston 17, and Kyle Benjamin 11.

After six races in the 2013 season Kimmel leads the points by 60 over Mason Mingus. Tom Hessert is third, Josh Williams fourth, and Justin Boston fifth.

NASCAR K&N Pro Series East:

Ben Kennedy won the NASCAR Hall of Fame 150 at historic Bowman Gray Stadium on Saturday in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East race. It was the second win of Kennedy's East Series career after winning at Five-Flags Speedway earlier in the season.

“Man, this is just awesome,” Kennedy said. “I’ve got to thank BK Racing and absolutely everyone that made this possible to win here at Bowman Gray. I’m speechless over that. I came here two years ago and finished third and we were top of the world. There isn’t anything better than a win at Bowman Gray.”

He took the lead from Brett Moffitt on lap 124 after Moffitt had led the entire race but experienced a battery issue. He had to pit and ended up finishing in 13th.

Dylan Kwasniewski spun early but fought back to finish second. Brandon Gdovic finished third with Kenzie Ruston fourth and Jesse Little fifth. Mackena Bell finished in sixth, Bryan Ortiz seventh, Gray Gaulding eighth, Daniel Suarez ninth, Cole Custer tenth and Johnny VanDoorn was the last lead lap car in 11th.

Ruston and Bell's top 10 finishes marked the first time in series history that two female drivers finished in the top 10 in the same race.

There were 13 total cautions in the race for a total of 62 of the 150 laps.

After five races in the 2013 season Brett Moffitt is the points leader by four points even though he has not yet won. Brandon Gdovic is second and Dylan Kwasniewski is seven points back in third, Ben Kennedy is fourth only eight points back. Ryan Gifford is fifth, Kenzie Ruston sixth, Eddie MacDonald is seventh, Gray Gaulding eighth, CJ Faison ninth, and Mackena Bell tenth.

The next race on the schedule is Friday, June 7th at Iowa Speedway for a combination race with the East and West Series drivers.

Tags: ARCA Racing Series, Ben Kennedy, Bowman Gray Stadium, Brett Moffitt, Dylan Kwasniewski, Elko Speedway, Frank Kimmel, Iggy Katona, Josh Williams, Justin Boston, Ken Schrader, Kenzie Ruston, Mackena Bell, Mason Mingus, Motorsports

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: