News Archives

Joey Logano Won the 5-Hour Engery 200 at Dover International Speedway

June 2nd, 2013 at 12:05 PM
By Mark Eddinger

Joey Logano scored his first win with Penske Racing in Saturday's 5-Hour Energy 200 NASCAR Nationwide Series race at Dover International Speedway. It is Logano's 19th career Nationwide Series victory and third consecutive at Dover. The win was also the first with his new team after moving over from Joe Gibbs Racing where he won his previous 18 races.

'Joey Logano' photo (c) 2012, Mike Kalasnik - license:

Logano used pit strategy to grab the lead for the final restart of the race on lap 166 of 200. Kyle Busch was looking to win his seventh Nationwide Series race of the season and looked well on his way when he had a five second lead over Logano when the fifth and final caution of the race came out on lap 161 when Dexter Stacey spun in Turn 4.

On the ensuing pit stops Kyle Busch's team decided to take four tires which dropped him to 11th on the restart. Logano and other drivers took just two tires and that was all the driver of the No. 22 Ford needed to score the win.

"Really, the winning call was on that last pit stop, when (crew chief) Jeremy (Bullins) made an audible and decided to do two tires," Logano said.

Logano led a total of 66 laps in the race.

Busch could only climb back to fifth place over the final green flag run after leading a race high 72 laps. His Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Brian Vickers finished in second as the highest Nationwide Series championship contender.

Matt Kenseth finished third with Trevor Bayne fourth.

Kasey Kahne finished sixth and led for 14 laps after he took two tires on a pit stop after he cashed Mike Wallace to bring out the third caution of the race on lap 113. Wallace was holding Kahne up and ended up finishing in 31st after the crash.

Sam Hornish Jr finished in seventh and pole sitter Austin Dillon led 43 laps and finished eighth. Regan Smith took ninth and Kyle Larson tenth. Also finishing on the lead lap were Parker Kligerman in 11th, Justin Allgaier 12th, Michael Annett 13th, Brian Scott 14th, Travis Pastrana 15th, Cole Whitt 16th, Alex Bowman 17th, Mike Bliss 18th, Jeremy Clements 19th and Nelson Piquet Jr 20th.

Elliott Sadler finished 28th after crashing on lap 79 on the frontstretch and losing nine laps.

Regan Smith leads the points by 27 of Sam Hornish Jr. Brian Vickers moved up to third and is 42 points back with Justin Allgaier fourth 43 points back. Fifth is Austin Dillon, Parker Kligerman is sixth, Elliott Sadler seventh, Brian Scott eighth, Kyle Larson ninth, and Trevor Bayne tenth.

The next race on the Nationwide Series schedule is Saturday, June 8th at Iowa Speedway for the running of the Pioneer Hi-Bred 250. 

Tags: Austin Dillon, Brian Vickers, dover international speedway, Elliott Sadler, Joey Logano, Kasey Kahne, matt kenseth, Motorsports, NASCAR, Nationwide Series, Regan Smith, Trevor Bayne

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: