News Archives

Indiana Hoosiers Win First Big Ten Baseball Title in 81 Years

May 20th, 2013 at 3:24 PM
By Evan Reller

The last time Indiana won a Big Ten title in baseball was 1932. The Hoosiers finally won it again  after defeating Ohio State, 8-1, on Saturday.

The win also ensured that the Hoosiers would have the number one seed in the Big Ten Tournament. The Hoosiers won the tournament in 2009 and have participated in the tourney five of the past six years. 

This is just the fifth time that IU has won the title. They were outright champions in 1925, 1932, and now in 2013. The Hoosiers were co-champions in 1938 and 1949. 

IU finishes the regular season with a 40-13 record, and 17-7 in the conference. The 40 wins mark the best record against Division-I opponent in school history. 

Senior shortstop Michael Basil was named Big Ten Player of the Week today. In the three game series against Ohio State, Basil posted a .500 batting average (5-for-10), he had four doubles, and batted in five runs. He had at least one RBI in each game against the Buckeyes.

Basil is the fourth Hoosier to earn player of the week honors this season. 

The Big Ten Tournament starts on Wednesday and runs through Sunday at Target Field in Minneapolis. IU has a first round bye, and won't play until Thursday night at 8:05 p.m. EST

We'll be taking a look at the tournament tomorrow. 

Don't forget to follow us on twitter, @hoosiers101. 

Tags: Big Ten, Big Ten Tournament, Indiana, Indiana Hoosiers, Michael Basil, NCAA, Ohio State

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: