News Archives

Colorado Avalanche: Blown Call Raises Questions

March 20th, 2017 at 12:54 PM
Aggregated By Sports Media 101

The Colorado Avalanche lost against the Chicago Blackhawks after a blown call by NHL officials, emphasizing the need for accountability measures in officiating.

The Colorado Avalanche are not making the playoffs, they’re the worst team of the salary cap era, they gave up four unanswered goals to lose to Chicago 6-3, so on and so forth.

That doesn’t change the fact that the team had a blown call go against them on Sunday evening. Sure, the game was unimportant as far as standings go, but it certainly infuriated Avalanche fans in an already infuriating season.

Why does that matter? Because the NHL has no purpose if the fans aren’t paying money to fill seats, buy merchandise, etc. Naturally the league shouldn’t kowtow to the fanbase. However, it does have a responsibility to provide unbiased officiating during games.

Yet on Sunday evening it seemed the entire NHL colluded against the Colorado Avalanche.

Blown Call Goes Against Colorado Avalanche

There are blown calls. There are calls made out of favoritism. There are blatant mistakes made by the officials.

And then there’s what happened during the Colorado Avalanche game against the Chicago Blackhawks:

That is offsides. Right after that, Jonathan Toews collected the puck and scored against the Colorado Avalanche to make the score 3-2. But the goal should have been disallowed because Toews was offsides when his teammate, Artemi Panarin, took control of the puck.

In case you’re an NHL official wondering what on earth offsides is, here’s the official explanation from the NHL website:

” Players of the attacking team must not precede the puck into the attacking zone. A player is off-side when both skates are completely over the leading edge of the blue line involved in the play.”

Here is a visual representation of offsides based on that definition:

See? The puck is completely over the blueline. Toews’ skates â?? and the rest of him â?? are also on the offensive zone side of the blueline. Completely. There is no gray area. (Lots of white between the blueline and his skates, though.)

However, the NHL cited Rule 78.7 as rationale for their decision to rule against Colorado’s Coach’s Challenge:

“If a review is not conclusive and/or there is any doubt whatsoever as to whether the call on the ice was correct, the On-Ice Official(s) will be instructed to confirm their original call.”

The website explains that the “review was not conclusive in determining whether Toews tagged up at the instant the puck was on Richard Panik’s stick when Chicago entered the attacking zone prior to the goal.”

Actually, as the video and stills that were …

Read Original Post at
http://milehighsticking.com/2017/03/20/colorado-avalanche-fans-furious-blown-call/

Sports Media 101 searches and spiders for news it aggregates from across the web about your favorite sport or sports team. This article is originally posted at another site not affiliated with Sports Media 101. The portion of the article posted here is to provide a sample of the content available at the linked site. Please click the link to read the full article. Sports Media 101 does not claim any ownership to the content and all rights are retained by the original copyright owner.

Tags: Editorials

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with:         

PLEASE NOTE

Sports Media 101 is changing under the hood and will change soon in its appearance. We are in the process of converting from a publisher of sports media to a "smart" search engine and news service. Exciting things are happening stay tuned.