News Archives

Buffalo Sabres Shut Out as NHL Finishes Naming Award Finalists

May 17th, 2013 at 7:15 PM
By Paul Lane Sabres 101
The leaders of two of the NHL's surprise teams from this past season join the man at the helm of the league's best team as finalists for the league's coach of the year award.
Bruce Boudreau of the Anaheim Ducks, Paul MacLean of the Ottawa Senators and Joel Quenneville of the Chicago Blackhawks were named Jack Adams Award finalists Friday.
The Ducks won the Pacific Division after not being expected to make the playoffs. They finished 30-12-6, good for 66 points and second overall in the Western Conference. They were upset in the first round of the playoffs by the Detroit Red Wings.
The Senators made the playoffs this season after also being expected not to take part. They finished 25-17-6, good for 56 points and seventh place in the Eastern Conference. They upset the Montreal Canadiens in the first round of the playoffs and are down 1-0 to the Pittsburgh Penguins entering tonight's game.
The Blackhawks won the President's Trophy with a 36-7-5 record. They went the first 24 games of the season without losing a game in regulation. They're leading the Red Wings 1-0 in the second round of the playoffs after eliminating the Minnesota Wild in five games in the first round.
'P1030393-1' photo (c) 2011, grilled cheese - license:
No Buffalo Sabres were nominated for any award again this year. No Sabres have won any awards since 2010, when Ryan Miller won the Vezina and Tyler Myers won the Calder. The finalists for the other awards this year are as follows:
  • HART TROPHY (MVP): Sidney Crosby, Penguins; Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals; John Tavares, New York islanders
  • VEZINA TROPHY (best goalie): Sergi Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets; Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers; Antti Niemi, San Jose Sharks
  • NORRIS TROPHY (best defenseman): Kris Letang, Penguins; P.K. Subban, Canadiens; Ryan Suter (Wild)
  • CALDER TROPHY (rookie of the year): Brendan Gallagher, Canadiens; Jonathan Huberdeau; Florida Panthers; Brandon Saad, Blackhawks
  • LADY BYNG (sportsmanship): Patrick Kane, Blackhawks; Matt Moulson, Islanders; Martin St. Louis, Tamps Bay Lightning
  • SELKE TROPHY (best defensive forward): Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins; Pavel Datsyuk, Red Wings; Jonathan Toews, Blackhawks
  • MASTERTON TROPHY (perseverance): Crosby; Josh Harding, Wild; Adam McQuaid, Bruins
  • GM OF THE YEAR: Marc Bergevin, Canadiens; Bob Murray, Ducks; Ray Shero, Penguins
  • TED LINDSAY AWARD (MVP as voted upon by players): Crosby; Ovechkin; St. Louis
  • MAURICE RICHARD TROPHY (top goal scorer): Won by Ovechkin, 32 goals
Tags: Buffalo, Buffalo Sabres, Hockey, NHL

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: