News Archives

Buffalo Bills to Induct Longtime Announcer Van Miller to Wall of Fame

May 18th, 2014 at 11:45 AM
By Paul Lane Sabres 101

The man who came to be the voice of the Buffalo Bills will be enshrined this coming season on the Bills Wall of Fame.

Multiple media outlets reported that Van Miller will join the wall. Miller was the first voice of the Bills, having broadcast for the team since its inception in the AFL in 1960. He was behind the microphone for every Bills game from them until 1971, when a rival radio station picked up the team's broadcast rights. He returned in 1977 and remained in the broadcast booth until his retirement in 2004.

'Ralph Wilson Stadium, Buffalo Bills, Buffalo NY. Crane lift  (3)' photo (c) 2007, Michael Cardus - license:

Miller, now 86, was the man who brought the Bills' 1964 and 1965 AFL championship broadcasts to Bills fans. He was also at all four Super Bowl losses in the 1990s. He broadcast nearly 700 Bills games in all, having coined the phrase "fandemonium." Other famous calls such as "do you believe it?" and "fasten your seatbelts" endeared him to Bills fans. 

Miller also served as a broadcaster for Buffalo Braves NBA games, local college sports teams and as a sports anchor for the local CBS TV affiliate, WIVB. He'd previously earned a spot in the Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame and won the Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award from the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2004.

The last person to go up on the Bills Wall of Fame was former general manager Bill Polian in 2012. The last player to be enshrined was Phil Hansen in 2011. Miller will be the 29th name to go up dating back to 1980. The enshrinees are:

  • 2012: Bill Polian
  • 2011: Phil Hansen
  • 2010: Booker Edgerson
  • 2008: Bruce Smith
  • 2007: Steve Tasker
  • 2006: Andre Reed
  • 2005: Thurman Thomas
  • 2004: Jim Ritcher
  • 2003: Darryl Talley
  • 2002: Kent Hull
  • 2000: George Saimes
  • 2001: Fred Smerlas
  • 2001: Jim Kelly
  • 2000: Bob Kalsu
  • 1999: Ed Abramoski
  • 1998: Robert James
  • 1997: Joe DeLamielleure
  • 1996: Marv Levy
  • 1995: Joe Ferguson
  • 1994: Mike Stratton
  • 1993: Elbert Dubenion
  • 1992: The 12th Man
  • 1989: Ralph C. Wilson Jr.
  • 1988: Billy Shaw
  • 1987: Tom Sestak
  • 1985: Patrick McGroder
  • 1984: Jack Kemp
  • 1980: O.J. Simpson
Tags: Andre Reed, Bruce Smith, Buffalo, Buffalo Bills, Buffalo Braves, Football, Jim Kelly, NFL, Thurman Thomas, Van Miller

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: