News Archives

Buffalo Bills’ Andre Reed Would Be Denied Hall of Fame by Fans, Poll Says

January 26th, 2014 at 12:00 PM
By Paul Lane Sabres 101

While it has no bearing on what will actually happen next weekend, a poll of NFL fans finds a similarly disappointing for former Buffalo Bills receiver Andre Reed on his quest for Pro Football Hall of Fame enshrinement.

'Pro Football Hall of Fame' photo (c) 2011, marada - license:

The fan poll done by has Reed tied for ninth among the 17 finalists up for enshrinement Saturday. Hall rules allow for a maximum of seven inductees per class, provided they each get at least 80 percent of the votes; a minimum of four get in. Fans would definitely push through former New York Giants defensive end Michael Strahan, Oakland Raiders punter Ray Guy, Pittsburgh Steelers running back Jerome Bettis and Indianapolis Colts coach Tony Dungy

Reed, the Bills' all-time leader in catches - has been here before. He's been a finalist the past three years, making the cut to the final 10 last year before getting denied.

The Hall voting committee of media members will converge Saturday to begin polling as part of Super Bowl weekend. Inductees will be announced Saturday night.

Following is a leaderboard of the fan vote-getters, followed by the percentage of vote they've received.

  • DE Michael Strahan 11
  • P Ray Guy 10
  • RB Jerome Bettis 10
  • Coach Tony Dungy 8
  • LB Derrick Brooks 7
  • WR Marvin Harrison 7
  • LB Kevin Greene 6
  • DE Charles Haley 6
  • WR Tim Brown 5
  • DE Claude Humphrey 5
  • FS John Lynch 5
  • WR Andre Reed 5
  • K Morten Anderson 4 
  • Owner Edward Debartolo Jr. 3
  • T Walter Jones 3
  • G Will Shields 3
  • CB Aeneas Williams 3
Tags: Andre Reed, Buffalo, Buffalo Bills, Football, Hall of Fame, Indianapolis Colts, Michael Strahan, New York Giants, NFL, Oakland Raiders, Pittsburgh Steelers, Super Bowl

Related posts

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: