News Archives

Mike Mussina and Rafael Palmeiro Headline Group of Former Baltimore Orioles not Elected to Hall of Fame

January 9th, 2014 at 7:18 AM
By Josh Michael

The Baseball Writers Association of America announced their voting results and revealed their 2014 induction class for the Baseball Hall of Fame on Wednesday. Frank Thomas, Greg Maddux, and Tom Glavine got the nod, while Mike Mussina and Rafael Palmerio headlined a group of former Baltimore Orioles not to get elected.

'Greg Maddux' photo (c) 2008, SD Dirk - license:

Before we get to the group of former Orioles not elected, it needs to be noted that the heartbreak of the day came at the expense of former Astros second baseman Craig Biggio as he was on 74.8% of ballots and a player must receive at least 75% of the vote to be elected, thus a measly 0.2% kept Biggio out of the Hall of Fame his second year on the ballot.

Now to the former Birds.

Palmeiro was an Oriole for seven years, over the course of two separate stints with the team, and is one of only four players with 500 home runs and 3,000 hits in the history of the game. It has become perfectly clear that the writers will not tolerate a failed test as Palmeiro received just 4.4% of the vote and will no longer be on the ballot as a player must receive at least 5% to remain on the ballot the following year.

'Mike Mussina' photo (c) 2012, Keith Allison - license:

Mussina was the marquee former Oriole on the ballot as he is the one guy that would have a chance to go into the Hall of Fame with an Orioles cap on his plaque, but he fell short in his first year on the ballot as he received just 20.3% of the vote. Many experts, including our editor, believe that Mussina has a good chance to get in at some point, but the crowded ballot this year greatly hurt Mussina's chances in 2014. Next year does not seem to be much better for Mussina's chances as three phenomenal pitchers will be on the ballot for the first time in Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez and John Smoltz. Mike may have to wait till 2016 to see his chances improve.

There were several other former Orioles on the ballot this year, although they would not enter the Hall with a Baltimore hat on: outfielder Tim Raines received 46.1 percent of the vote, followed by reliever Lee Smith (29.9 percent), starter Curt Schilling (29.2) and outfielder Sammy Sosa (7.2 percent), and believe it or not, reliever Armando Benitez received one vote, and reliever Mike Timlin received none.

Here are the complete results from the 2014 Hall of Fame Ballot with total votes and percentage

Greg Maddux 555 (97.2%)
Tom Glavine 525 (91.9)
Frank Thomas 478 (83.7)
Craig Biggio 427 (74.8)
Mike Piazza 355 (62.2)
Jack Morris 351 (61.5)
Jeff Bagwell 310 (54.3)
Tim Raines 263 (46.1)
Roger Clemens 202 (35.4)
Barry Bonds 198 (34.7)
Lee Smith 171 (29.9)
Curt Schilling 167 (29.2)
Edgar Martinez 144 (25.2)
Alan Trammell 119 (20.8)
Mike Mussina 116 (20.3)
Jeff Kent 87 (15.2)
Fred McGriff 67 (11.7)
Mark McGwire 63 (11.0)
Larry Walker 58 (10.2)
Don Mattingly 47 (8.2)
Sammy Sosa 41 (7.2)
Rafael Palmeiro 25 (4.4)
Moises Alou 6 (1.1)
Hideo Nomo 6 (1.1)
Luis Gonzalez 5 (0.9)
Eric Gagne 2 (0.4)
J.T. Snow 2 (0.4)
Armando Benitez 1 (0.2)
Jacque Jones 1 (0.2)
Kenny Rogers 1 (0.2)
Sean Casey 0 (0)
Ray Durham 0 (0)
Todd Jones 0 (0)
Paul LoDuca 0 (0)
Richie Sexson 0 (0)
Mike Timlin 0 (0)

The Baseball Writers Association of America eligible voters casted 571 ballots this year, which was just two more than in 2013. It will be a much different induction day this July as opposed to last year with three players being inducted after no one was elected last year.

Oh by the way, if you want to know what is wrong with some of the voting process, just look at the fact that Benitez received a vote, along with Kenny Rogers and Jacque Jones. It is unknown which voters actually voted for those guys, but one would hope whoever they are, those votes did not take away their vote for Biggio, who needed just two more votes to get elected.


Be sure to "like" our Facebook page at

Add us on Google+ Orioles101

Follow us on Twitter for all Orioles breaking news @Orioles_101

Tags: Armando Benitez, Baltimore, Baltimore Orioles, Baseball, Hall of Fame, Mike Mussina, MLB, Rafael Palmeiro

Related posts

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: