News Archives

Baltimore Orioles’ Chris Davis Nominated for Hank Aaron Award

October 8th, 2013 at 7:31 AM
By Josh Michael

Ever since 1999, each league hands out the Hank Aaron Award which recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer and this season the Baltimore Orioles' nominee for the award is none other than Chris Davis.

The award winners are voted on by both the fans and a panel of Hall of Famers, which include the likes of Aaron himself, as well as Johnny Bench, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Robin Yount and former Orioles Eddie Murray and Roberto Alomar.

'Chris Davis' photo (c) 2013, Keith Allison - license:

Crush had a fantastic year, as we are all well aware and he led the majors this season in home runs (53), RBIs (138) and extra-base hits (96). He also finished second in slugging percentage (.634) and OPS (1.004). His 53 homers and 370 total bases set Orioles franchise records, and his 138 RBIs were fourth-most in club history.

Davis also ranked among the AL leaders in runs scored (tied for second with 103) and doubles (tied for third with 42) and became the third player in MLB history to hit at least 50 home runs and 40 doubles in a season, joining Babe Ruth (1921) and Albert Belle (1995).

Once it was announced yesterday, we immediately thought about the All Star voting and how Orioles fans flooded the ballots with votes for Baltimore players, thus if Orioles fans express their right to vote like they did for the All Star game, Davis may be bringing home some hardware for the trophy case.

"It is a great honor that Major League Baseball recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each league with an award in my name," Aaron said in a press release issued by MLB. "The game is full of so many talented players today that I am thankful my fellow Hall of Famers and the fans assist in selecting the much deserving winners."

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Miguel Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012), Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011), Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Rodriguez and Pujols (2003); Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).

Incase you were wondering, fans can vote here as well as see each team's candidate. Fans are allowed to vote up to ten times a day every day through Thursday, October 10th and the winners will be announced during the World Series.


Be sure to "like" our Facebook page at

Add us on Google+ Orioles101

Follow us on Twitter for all Orioles breaking news @Orioles_101

You need to satisfy your competitive drive, so why not beat our experts in fantasy football. At FightClub, our official Fantasy Football partner, you can change you team weekly and win cash. Get a free $5 credit when you sign up and try them out. And each week, Sports Media 101 will sweeten the pot and award the player with top points an extra $25. Match-up and show them how good you are. Can you handle FightClub?

Your man cave is your home field advantage for every game. When the game is on the line, you should be able to look around and be reminded of the great moments you've watched unfold in that very room! MJR Sports Integrity offers a wide range or team and player-specific memorabilia that can do just that and take your game day room to the next level. Find your inspiration at MJR Sports Integrity and will your team to victory!

Tags: Baltimore, Baltimore Orioles, Baseball, Chris Davis, Eddie Murray, Hank Aaron, MLB, Roberto Alomar

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: