News Archives

Former Atlanta Falcons K Morten Andersen is Finalist for NFL Hall of Fame

January 10th, 2014 at 6:22 PM
By Graham Waldrop

Morten Andersen.  The name should bring a smile to the face of many a downtrodden Falcons fan when they remember fondly how he banged a game winning field goal against Minnesota in the 1998-1999 NFC championship to send the Falcons to their only Super Bowl appearance.

It was revealed a couple of months ago that the beloved kicker had made it to the semi finals for the Hall of Fame, and now Andersen is one step closer.  Along with 14 other candidates that includes Jerome Bettis, Tony Dungy and Michael Strahan, Andersen finds himself on the cusp of being amongst the elite of the elite. 

If inducted, Andersen would join Deion Sanders, Chris Doleman, Tommy McDonald and Norm Van Brocklin as the only former members of the Atlanta Falcons to make it to the Hall of Fame.

Fans of Andersen and the other finalists will find out their fate on Februrary 1st this year, when those who are enshrined will be revealed.  



Tags: Atlanta, Atlanta Falcons, Chris Doleman, Deion Sanders, Football, Jerome Bettis, Michael Strahan, Morten Andersen, NFL, Norm Van Brocklin, Tommy McDonald, Tony Dungy

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: