News Archives

No One Elected to Baseball Hall of Fame

January 9th, 2013 at 2:30 PM
By Cody Fields

In what seems to not be a surprise to anyone, no one will be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY, in 2013, also dashing Dale Murphy's hopes in his final year on the ballot. It is the first time no one has been elected to the Hall of Fame since 1996.

With the mess of the steroid era finally showing up on the ballot, the Baseball Writers Association of America gave no one the necessary 75 percent of the vote. BBWAA voting members may name up to 10 players on their ballots.

In his first year on the ballot, former Houston Astros second baseman Craig Biggio garnered the largest vote with 68.2 percent, followed by Jack Morris (67.7 percent) and Biggio's longtime teammate Jeff Bagwell (59.6 percent) third year of eligibility.

The biggest names from the steroid era, Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens, got just 36.2 percent and 37.6 percent of the votes, respectively, reflecting a possible entrenchment by members of the BBWAA. The 12.6 percent of the vote Sammy Sosa got showed an even firmer rebuttal of known steroid users, even though he is the only player to hit 60 homers in three different seasons.

Former Atlanta Braves outfielder Dale Murphy failed to get elected in his 15th and final year on the ballot, though the Veterans Committe may induct him down the road.


Mike Piazza was also snubbed in his first year of eligibility with 57.7 percent of the vote. His 396 homers as a catcher (427 total) rank first all time.

Tim Raines also fell short at 52.2 percent.

"There will still be an induction ceremony in Cooperstown, N.Y., on July 28," reports "Longtime Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert, turn-of-the-20th-century umpire Hank O'Day and 19th-century catcher Deacon White were elected to the Hall last month by the Pre-Integration Committee, and their memories and heirs will be honored on that date. All three are deceased."

Former Braves Ryan Klesko and Reggie Sanders, who at least had the honor of appearing on the ballot, got zero votes and will not appear on the ballot in the future. Julio Franco appeared on 1.1 percent of the ballots, short of the 5 percent required to appear in the future. Another former Brave, Kenny Lofton, also was only named on 3.2 percent of ballots.

Next year should be particularly kind to the Braves with Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine appearing alongside the likes of Frank Thomas, Jeff Kent and Mike Mussina as first-timers.

Tags: Atlanta, Atlanta Braves, Baseball Hall of Fame, MLB

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: