History of the Arizona Cardinals

The Arizona Cardinals are the oldest continually run football franchise in America. The Cardinals’ roots can be traced back to the Midwest. The team traces its history to an amateur Chicago-based athletic club team named the Morgan Athletic Club. When the NFL was created in 1920, it was then known as the American Professional Football Association. Two of its founding teams where the Chicago Bears (then the Decatur Staleys) and the Chicago Cardinals. The Cardinals won their first NFL championship in 1925, finishing the season with a record of 11-2-1. The team would stay in Chicago until the end of the 1959 season. In 1960, the league's 12 owners unanimously approved the Cardinals' move from Chicago to Saint Louis, giving the city two professional sports teams named the Cardinals. The Cardinals stay is St. Louis was not a memorable one, as the team made the playoffs just 3 times in 28 years, failing to win a playoff game.

Following to the conclusion of the 1987 season, ownership decided to move the team to Phoenix, AZ, and rename the club the Phoenix Cardinals. Despite being named the Phoenix Cardinals, contract disputes forced the Cardinals to play their home games in Arizona State University’s Sun Devil Stadium, which is located in Tempe, AZ. The Cardinals continued to play in a college stadium until the 2006 season when they moved into University of Phoenix Stadium, a state-of-the-art facility with a retractable field that the Cardinals could have all to their own.

2008 was one of the most successful years in the clubs long history. The team went 9-7, good enough for first place in the NFC West. Led by quarterback Kurt Warner and Wide Receiver Larry Fitzgerald, the Cardinals not only won their first playoff game in 63 years, but they also advanced to the Super Bowl by defeating the Philadelphia Eagles 32-25 in the NFC Championship. Unfortunately, that was as far as the team would go. They lost Super Bowl XLIII 27-23 to the Pittsburgh Steelers, thanks to an amazing catch by Steelers Receiver Santonio Holmes in the game’s final moments.