News Archives

NFL Prediction: Arizona Cardinals Will Finish 10-6 in 2014

August 27th, 2014 at 6:20 AM
By Steve Smith

The opening game of the 2014 NFL season for the Arizona Cardinals is just around the corner. The Red Birds will host the San Diego Chargers on Mon., Sept. 8 on Monday Night Football at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale.

Arizona went 10-6 last season and should have a similar outcome in 2014.

Let's take a revised look at some game-by-game predictions for the upcoming season:

Cardinals Regular-Season Schedule (All times Eastern)

Week 1: Monday, Sept. 8, San Diego, 10:20 p.m. Win

Week 2: Sunday, Sept. 14, at NY Giants, 1 p.m. Loss

Week 3: Sunday, Sept. 21, San Francisco, 4:05 p.m. Win

Week 4: BYE

Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 5, at Denver, 4:05 p.m. Loss

Week 6: Sunday, Oct. 12, Washington, 4:25 p.m. Win

Week 7: Sunday, Oct. 19, at Oakland, 4:25 p.m. Win

Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 26, Philadelphia, 4:05 p.m. Win

Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 2, at Dallas, 1 p.m. Loss

Week 10: Sunday, Nov. 9, St. Louis, 4:25 p.m. Win

Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 16, Detroit, 4:25 p.m. Win

Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 23, at Seattle, 4:05 p.m. Loss

Week 13: Sunday, Nov. 30, at Atlanta, 4:05 p.m. Win

Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 7, Kansas City, 4:05 p.m. Win

Week 15: Thursday, Dec. 11, at St. Louis, 8:25 p.m. Loss

Week 16: Sunday, Dec. 21, Seattle, 8:30 p.m. Win

Week 17: Sunday, Dec. 28, at San Francisco, 4:25 p.m. Loss

Final record: 10-6 and in the NFC playoffs as a wild card team.

Schedule Analysis: The initial thing you notice is that the Red Birds finish up the 2014 NFL campaign with three divisional contests – two of them on the road. That's a rough way to end the season for Bruce Arians' team.

The only division game the Cardinals play before Week 10 will be at home against San Francisco in Week 3. That's a weird twist in this year's schedule.

Arizona's bye week is very early this year – in week four. Having a bye week in Week 4 isn’t usually conducive to a successful second half of the season, especially with an older roster like Arizona has. After just three games — two of which are at home — the Red Birds have a week off before going to Denver. The only benefit is getting an added week to prepare for Peyton Manning.

However, with 13 straight games without a weekend off, the Cards can be struggling into Week 15 when it plays what could be the three most important games of the season.

It will be interesting to see how the Cardinals deal with this aspect of their schedule. The schedule is fairly tough but so is it for every squad in the NFC West.

This year the Red Birds will make it into the NFC playoffs.

Also,

Seeing your team play in the SuperBowl is priceless. Watching the SuperBowl live in the stands for $1 per week is beyond priceless. Find out how at TicketScore.com, the future of Championship Tickets.

Tags: Arizona, Arizona Cardinals, Football, NFL, Peyton Manning

Related posts

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: