News Archives

Hall Call for Former Arizona Cardinals Defensive Back Aeneas Williams

February 2nd, 2014 at 5:48 AM
By Steve Smith

'HOF' photo (c) 2008, Ryan Schreiber - license:
He finally made it.

Former Arizona Cardinals defensive back Aeneas Williams has been elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. He had been a finalist the previous two years.

The Hall of Fame class of 2014 also includes Michael Strahan, Walter Jones, Derrick Jones, Andre Reed, Claude Humphrey and Ray Guy. Guy is the first punter to make the Hall.

Former Cardinals coach Don Coryell was a finalist in 2010 but was not elected. Former Cards running back Emmitt Smith, best known for his time with the Dallas Cowboys and the NFL's all-time leading rusher, was a finalist for the first time in 2010 and voted in that year.

Former St. Louis Cardinals cornerback Roger Wehrli was enshrined in 2007 after being a finalist for the first time.

Williams is the Cardinals' 12th Hall of Famer and the first since Wehrli was inducted in 2007. He had 55 career interceptions, including nine that he returned for touchdowns. 

"My wife and I, when we got the call, tears of joy fell down just thanking God for this opportunity. Thank you," Williams said via

Let's take a look at the other Cardinals that have been inducted into Canton:

Previous Cardinals Hall of Famers: 1963 — Ernie Nevers, halfback;1964 — Jimmy Conzelman, coach; 1965 — John “Paddy” Driscoll, halfback; 1967 — Charles W. Bidwill Sr., owner; 1968 — Charley Trippi, halfback; 1972 — Ollie Matson, halfback; 1974 — Dick “Night Train” Lane, defensive back; 1978 — Larry Wilson, safety; 1994 — Jackie Smith, tight end; 1996 — Dan Dierdorf tackle; 2007 — Roger Wehrli, cornerback.

The third time was the charm for Williams.

Well deserved.








Tags: Aeneas Williams, Arizona, Arizona Cardinals, Don Coryell, Football, NFL

Related posts

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: