News Archives

Former Cardinal Aeneas Williams Named HOF Finalist

January 11th, 2014 at 6:20 AM
By Steve Smith

'Pro Football Hall of Fame' photo (c) 2011, marada - license:
Will this finally be the year?

Former Arizona Cardinals defensive back Aeneas Williams is among the finalists for enshrinement in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. He has been a finalist the past two years.

The class of 2014 inductees will be voted on Feb. 1, the day before the Super Bowl at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, NJ.

Former Cardinals coach Don Coryell was a finalist in 2010 but was not elected. Former Cards running back Emmitt Smith, best known for his time with the Dallas Cowboys and the NFL's all-time leading rusher, was a finalist for the first time in 2010 and voted in that year.

Former St. Louis Cardinals cornerback Roger Wehrli was enshrined in 2007 after being a finalist for the first time.

If enshrined, Williams would be the Cardinals' 12th Hall of Famer and the first since Wehrli was inducted in 2007.

Let's take a look at the Cardinals that have been inducted into Canton:

Cardinals Hall of Famers: 1963 — Ernie Nevers, halfback;1964 — Jimmy Conzelman, coach; 1965 — John “Paddy” Driscoll, halfback; 1967 — Charles W. Bidwill Sr., owner; 1968 — Charley Trippi, halfback; 1972 — Ollie Matson, halfback; 1974 — Dick “Night Train” Lane, defensive back; 1978 — Larry Wilson, safety; 1994 — Jackie Smith, tight end; 1996 — Dan Dierdorf tackle; 2007 — Roger Wehrli, cornerback.

Maybe the third time will be the charm for Williams. We'll soon find out.








Tags: Aeneas Williams, Arizona, Arizona Cardinals, Don Coryell, Emmitt Smith, Football, NFL

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: