News Archives

Three Arizona Cardinals Named to the NFL Pro Bowl

December 29th, 2013 at 6:30 AM
By Steve Smith

'Pro Bowl' photo (c) 2011, billsoPHOTO - license:
Three Arizona Cardinals players have been selected to the NFL Pro Bowl squad.

Karlos Dansby is not one of them.

Dansby, Arizona's outstanding linebacker, has been campaigning to make the Pro Bowl but teammates John Abraham, Patrick Peterson and Justin Bethel have been selected instead.

Abraham was named to his fifth Pro Bowl while Peterson earned his third honor in as many seasons at cornerback. Bethel was chosen for his outstanding special teams play as a gunner and will be making the trip to Hawaii in just his second NFL campaign.

Defensive end Calais Campbell, defensive tackle Darnell Dockett, linebacker Daryl Washington and wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald were named alternates. Fitzgerald is a seven-time Pro Bowl participant.

Dansby might be Arizona's MVP but he was not named to the elite contingent. The University of Auburn product is second in the NFL with 109 solo tackles and two defensive touchdowns. His four interceptions are 10th best in the league and he has 6.5 sacks to boot. It just wasn't enough this time around.

At 35 years of age, Abraham is the oldest Cardinals player headed to Honolulu but his selection was well deserved – his 11.5 sacks are tied for third most in the NFC and he has added 50 tackles as well, his most since 2005 with the Jets.

The 2014 NFL Pro Bowl will be held on Sun., Jan. 26 at Aloha Stadium in Hawaii.








Tags: Arizona, Arizona Cardinals, Calais Campbell, Darnell Dockett, Daryl Washington, Football, John Abraham, Justin Bethel, Karlos Dansby, Larry Fitzgerald, NFL, Patrick Peterson

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: